My Top 10 Favorite Movies of all time

Wut wut

The other day I talked about how it was my 1 year anniversary on wordpress and that I wanted to celebrate that with a very special “Top 10 list”. And that is a promise I intended to keep… so here we go. The reason why I chose this topic for my celebratory “Top 10” is because I wanted to give you something special and the fact that these are my favorite movies of all time makes it special to me because like I said, they are my favorites so I can pretty much gush about them all I want (and then some). Now for some ground rules.

#1: Like any other list you can not start bitching about stuff if a movie YOU don’t like is on this list. It’s my personal opinion and that is how it goes. I respect your opinion and I hope you’ll do the same for me.

#2: These movies are not the theoretically best. They don’t always have the best performances, they don’t have the most Oscar wins, these are simply movies that I personally love. They are near and dear to my heart. All of these are on here for different reasons.

Now since all of that is settled… let’s begin counting down… “My Top 10 Favorite Movies of all time”!

Number 10: 25th Hour (2002)
10. 25th Hour

Starting off the list is the Spike Lee directed drama about drug dealer Monty Brogan (Edward Norton) who only has 24 hours left of freedom before he has to go to jail. The plot is simple but is filled with so many layers that it almost kinda baffles me. It’s a deep look into Monty’s life as to how he reacts to the world and his loved ones in his last day of freedom. The performances in this movie are truly great. I think Edward Norton got snubbed for an Oscar nomination in this movie, you’ll know what I am talking about if you have seen hiw little *ahem* “monologue”. This movie is truly great and should be watched by all.

Number 9: Catch Me if You Can (2002)
9. Catch Me if you Can

You start seeing a pattern here? Don’t worry, 2002 is over after this entry on the list. “Catch Me if You Can” is a well-executed, well-acted movie about one of the greatest scams in all of history. Frank Abagnale Jr. (Leonardo DiCaprio) has been going around as a plane captain, a doctor and more… before even turning 21! The movie got both really good drama and really good comedy. The acting is really great as well with Christopher Walken stealing the show every time he is in a scene. I can already say that this is my favorite Steven Spielberg movie. Sure, I love “E.T.”, “Jaws” and “Jurassic Park”, but when I think of my favorite Spielberg movie… it’s this.

Number 8: One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest (1975)
8. One Flew Over...

Going a bit old school here with this Jack Nicholson classic. “One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest” is about criminal R.P. McMurphy (Jack Nicholson) who gets sent to a mental institution and starts to kind of rebel against… everything, particularly the head of it all, Nurse Ratched (Lousie Fletcher). This is a movie that got a great story, fantastic acting and some great direction by Milos Forman. This movie is pretty much everything you could want it to be. Critical against society, dramatic, funny, heartfelt and so much more. And that fishing scene… my god, the fishing scene, I love it so much! This is really the movie that sot of solidified Jack Nicholson as an A-list actor. Sure, he had a few Oscar nods under his belt, but this is really what made people go “We need this man in more movies, NOW!”. And I agree with them, this is a fantastic movie with a fantastic performance by Nicholson. And the ending of the movie serisously got me bawling my eyes out, it was so great yet so depressing. This is a fantastic movie.

Number 7: Se7en (1995)
7. Se7en

Yes I do see the irony of this one. And to be honest with you, it came on there by pure accident. I watched it, I loved it and it ended up at number 7. So “Se7en” (Se-Seven-En) is about two detectives (Brad Pitt & Morgan Freeman) investigating a series of murders who all seem to have some kind of relation to one of the seven deadly sins… hence the title “Se7en” (Se-Sev, oh fuck it!). To start it off… this is a disturbing movie. Here is a tip to you if you haven’t seen it yet… don’t eat anything while watching this, it is too disturbing/disgusting. The performances are really good and the score by Howard Shore was great. And yes I will gush over the direction in 3, 2, 7… It is directed by David Fincher… David Fucking Fincher. The guy is a masterclass director and he showed it early on here… “Ali3n” (Ali-Three-En) does not count. This movie is great on so many aspects. And whatever anyone else says, the ending is one of the best there ever was. I have to commend the movie for how much balls it got for doing some of the things it did. “Se7en” is a great crime-thriller that should not be missed (Don’t eat during it!).

Number 6: American History X (1998)
6. American History X

I am not a nazi. I just couldn’t find a better wallpaper. But to the movie itself! If you thought “Se7en” was ballsy, then you have not seen anything yet. “American History X” is about neo nazi Derek (Edward Norton) who gets out of prison and then tries to get his little brother (Edward Furlong) out of it. This movie is one of the most powerful I have ever seen. So many scenes in this movie stick in my mind to this very day and I have not seen the movie since last year. I think the one that stuck the hardest though is the one that is portayed in the picture above. Derek kills two black guys who were part of a group that ruined his truck. The first one dies from a gunshot… quick and easy. The other one however gets a more brutal way to go. He gets his mouth put to the curb and *boom* smashed. This movie is brutal, it is violent but it is also a truly gripping movie about family(ish). I love this movie so much. And the ending is a real shocker in my opinion. For one I did not see it coming and secondly it just came out like *BAM!* and suddenly I was like “Holy shit, what the fuck!?”. But this movie is really fantastic and should be watched.

Number 5: The Matrix (1999)
5. Matrix

Going from an incredibly serious and realistic drama to a kinda serious yet campy and not very realistic action movie. It is the late 90’s action movie that put the Wachowskis on our radar and gave us some amazing action scenes to marvel at. “The Matrix” is about hacker Thomas “Neo” Anderson (Keanu “Woaw” Reeves) who discovers “The Matix” and becomes an ultra badass. I think it is obvious why I love this. It got some of the greatest action ever put to film but at the same time poses some pretty good philosophical questions. I also love seeing Keanu Reeves xo stuff. He could sit and read the menu for a chinese restaurant and it would still be entertaining. But “The Matrix” is overall a great movie.

Number 4: Inception (2010)
4. Inception

Staying on the theme of mindfuck we got the 2010 Best Picture nominee “Inception”. The directing is fantastic, the acting is great, the score by Hans Zimmer is perfect and it got some really good action in there as well. I also love all the dream-related things in this movie with like how they twist and turn the world around them and how all that works… that shit is cool. I also love the directions they take the story in. I think it really works. And to be completely honest I absolutely adore the ending because of how ambiguous it is. It has sparked endless discussion and I absolutely love when that stuff happens. Oh right, story. Dom Cobb (Leonardo DiCaprio, returning on the list) is a theif who infiltrates people’s dreams. He gets tasked with planting an idea in the head of a rich guy who is about to inherit his father’s company. What idea? Taking the company down. And complex ideas commence in an awesome way. This movie is fantastic, just watch it.

Number 3: The Good, The Bad and The Ugly (1966)
3. The Good The Bad and The Ugly

You knew I would put at least one western on this list. Question was though “Which one would it be?”. It was really no competition about it. The ultimate Clint Eastwood classic about some bounty hunters who are looking for a treasure. HUGE in scope, well-acted, badass and containing one of my favorite soundtracks of all time. And as you guys know, I love me a good western… and this was more than good… this was FANTASTIC! I also love Clint Eastwood, he is THE man. That scene at the graveyard is also one of the best ever created, you know which one I am talking about (if you have seen the movie). I highly recommend watching this movie because it is so badass and awesome.

Number 2: Drive (2011)
2. Drive

“Drive” is one of those movies that is so stylishly directed that it should be a flaw but it only becomes a strength. Story is about a mysterious stunt driver (Ryan Gosling) who doubles as a getaway driver. But he gets involved in some mobster stuff and shit hits the fan. To be honest when I first heard about this movie was through a poster I saw once and thought it would be like “Fast & Furious 92” or “Transporter 4”. So then I saw it and it was a drama with some action in it. People got disappointed at that. I on the other hand loved it so much. I thought it was better than what I expected it to be. The story is great, the acting is tremendous, the music is euphoric and the directing is fantastic. “Drive” is one of those movies that I can watch several times every year and never get bored with it… and it is a slow drama (with a 1 hour 40 minute time frame). I adore this movie so much that I try to push it on people who hasn’t seen it yet. I’ve managed on two people so far and I am working on more.

NUMBER 1: FIGHT CLUB (1999)
1. Fight Club

You should have seen this coming… you really should have seen this coming. I gush over it all the time and have gone as far as to have done TWO reviews of it. Okay, less gushing, more story. A nameless insomniac (Edward Norton, returning on the list) meets a cool and maybe batshit crazy soap maker named Tyler Durden (Brad Pitt, returning on the list) and they start a “Fight Club”. And then said Fight Club escalates to so much more than possible. That is really all I can say without giving away too much. But I would be surprised if you have not seen this movie yet. It is one of the most popular movies ever. This movie is weird, twisty-turny, hilarious and awesome. And by hilarious I really mean hilarious, I love the type of dark comedy they have in the movie. The movie is also pitch-perfectly directed… know why? Two words: David (fucking) Fincher. That’s kinda fun. Second Fincher/Pitt team-up on the list… and it features my favorite actor of all time (Edward Norton) as a main character… it was really made for me. To me this movie is perfect, I love this so much that I quote it at least a few times every week… and I watched it six times last year alone. I might have a slight obsession with this movie, but I don’t care because I adore it so much. “Fight Club” is my favorite movie of all time and it will stay that forever.

So those were my Top 10 Movies of all Time. I hope you enjoyed reading that because it was a lot of hard work making it. It was also really fun making it. Here’s to many more good years on here with more fun stuff like this!

So here is my question to you; What is YOUR favorite movie of all time? Comment below, let me know!

I’ll see you later!

10 thoughts on “My Top 10 Favorite Movies of all time

Leave a Reply

