My Top 10 Batman Movies

because_i_m_batman____by_superherocomputerart-d5kbtdg

Remember the other week where I had a poll on what my (at that time) next Top 10 would be? Well if you remember that then surely you remember how I said there was a tie between the winner of that one and another one so I had to toss a coin. Well after the other one won the coin toss it gave me the brilliant idea that I the Top 10 I would make after that one would be the one that tied. So here we are, presenting the new Top 10.

Ladies and gentlemen… My Top 10 Batman Movies.

Rule #1: Same as always, this is my list, so no butthurt bitching allowed.

Rule #2: Any Batman movies is elligible to be on this list… as long as I enjoyed it. And I will include several movies from the same incarnations of the character because I don’t feel like looking up 10 completely different ones to use. I may be good at research, but I am also lazy.

Rule #3: I’M BATMAN!

I will however start with an honorable mention and that will be “Batman: The Movie” starring Adam West. The reason it even is an honorable mention is because it is so hilariously bad that I couldn’t ignore it. Also, shark repellent spray… gotta love that shit.

Number 10: Batman: Gotham Knight (2008).
h9xrTEaXvogkiUaGm9C1f5I69E0

“Batman: Gotham Knight” is an animated movies absed around six different short films by different anime studious to sort of bridge the gap between “Batman Begins” and “The Dark Knight”. Sound pretty cool right? Well it kind of is but at the same time it isn’t THAT terrific because of all these short films feeling very loosely connected and with them not feeling 100% Batman-ish if that even means anything. But it is still cool to see Batman in all these different art styles that all look great in their own ways.

Number 9: Batman Returns (1992).
batman_returns_wallpaper-1024x768

Here we have the sequel to 1989’s “Batman”, once again directed by Tim Burton. Michael Keaton is back as Batman and this time he is not fighting The Joker but instead we get Catwoman and The Penguin. Defnitely darker than the first movie, it is still a good movie. Also, Christopher Walken is in this, so that’s pretty cool

Number 8: Batman: Assault on Arkham (2014).
Assault on Arkham

So this is a Batman movie, well technically not, but still. Even though this has Batman in the title and he is in the movie, we for the most part follow The Suicide Squad (Deadshot, Killer Frost, Harley Quinn, Black Spider, King Shark and *sigh* Captain Boomerang). It is a movie with good animation, really cool action and it follows the video game “Batman: Arkham Origins”… sort of.

Number 7: The Dark Knight Rises (2012).
1366_768_20120608012543630174

Oh boy, controversial placement. Look, I love this movie, i think it is fucking great. But there are otehr Batman movies I like more. So deal with it! But this is still a terrific entry in not only the Christopher Nolan Batman series, but even in the Batman movie-verse(s) in general.

Number 6: Batman Beyond: Return of the Joker (2000).
batman-batman-superheroes-joker-wallpaper-return-beyond-image-wallpapers-cartoon-wallpaper-42511

“Batman Beyond: Return of the Joker” is a tie-in to the animated series “Batman Beyond” which I also really like. In this movie we follow Terry McGinnis who in this timeline is Batman as he finds out that the original Joker has returned and holy shit this movie is both weird and awesome. Dark, twisted and badass, it is definitely worth the watch, especially if you like the show.

Number 5: The Dark Knight (2008).
the-dark-knight-wallpaper-5

Oh dear lord, not putting everybody’s favorite Batman movie at number 1, that is highly controversial. Well I don’t care, this is my list and I can do whatever I want! Besides, it is still ranked pretty high on the list. I love this movie, it is terrific. I do however think it might be one of the most overrated movies ever made. Sure, the story is great, the acting is fantastic, the music is fantastic and the direction/camera work is amazing, but it is still probably a little overrated. I mean, when it is ranked #4 on imdb’s “Top 250” list it is definitely overstepping it. I do however still love the movie.

Number 4: Batman: Mask of the Phantasm (1993).
Batman-Mask-of-the-Phantasm-FI

Fun fact: This was in fact the first Batman movie I ever saw. I think I was like 6 and I remember sitting there and watching it, being scared. I guess the visuals were too much for me back then or something. Going back to it a few years later however made me simply think that the movie was fantastic. Terrific animation, fantastic voice acting and music and one of the greatest Batman storylines ever told in anything ever makes this one of the best Batman movies ever.

Number 3: Batman Begins (2005).
the_dark_knight_rises-wallpaper-1366x768

The movie that introduced us to Christian Bale as The Caped Crusader. The movie that introduced us to Gary Oldman as Jim Gordon. The movie that introduced us to Michael Caine as old butler with funny lines (I know he’s Alfred, shut up). And the movie that showed that Christopher Nolan could helm a superhero film. Sure, there were no doubts really before because he hadn’t made anything that disproved it, but still we didn’t know what to expect. And it was fantatic. As you noticed, this is my favorite of Nolan’s Batman movies. I absolutely loved it in every way. I’m a little iffy about Katie Holmes in the movie, but she doesn’t completely ruin it for me.

Number 2: Batman: Under the Red Hood (2010).
batman_under_the_red_hood-wallpaper-1366x768

The 2010 animated Batman movie that I happened to catch on TV one day a few years ago and just blew me away. From it’s story, to it’s developed characters, excellent writing and terrific animation. It also has a lot of great meotion in it. And the voice cast is fantastic too. Bruce Greenwood kills it as Batman which is probably why he got to reprise his role in the animated series “Young Justice”. I love everything about this movie and I hope a lot more people check it out.

NUMBER 1: BATMAN (1989)!
Batman-Logo

If you looked at every entry on this list prior to this spot you probably noticed how this was absent from all other spots and that because it is my favorite Batman movie. I don’t know why I love it more than “Batman Begins” or “Under the Red Hood”. I guess it is because while it still is a dark and serious movie it still has a sense of fun behind it. And the actors in the movie are all great. Everyone had serious doubts about Michael Keaton as Batman but he managed to prove everyone wrong. And Jack Nicholson is fantastic as The Joker. I don’t care much for the music by Prince that we got in the movie, but everything else is just pure perfection for me. And therefore I declare this my favorite Batman movie of all time!

List is done! So what is your favorite Batman movie of all time? Leave a comment!

Have a good one!

4 thoughts on “My Top 10 Batman Movies

  1. Nice list! Dark Knight Rises is a controversial spot, I would have placed it lower. Batman is a very personal character to people and there’s so many differences between the incarnations of it. I’m a big fan of Dark Knight Returns for another animated spot, but love all your list.

  2. Good list, I see you’re more of a classic Batman fan, perfectly fine. For me though its Dark Knight. Glad you liked Under the Red Hood, its amazing and a movie that doesnt get enough attention because of its direct to video release

Leave a Reply

