Movie Review: The Thing (1982)

1366x768_the_thing-1399631

You know what’s weird? Ever since I saw “The Shining” about a week ago, I feel more open to watching horror movies. I guess it is because since I finally saw a good horror movie I have hope in finding more ones. So let’s review a horror movie that has been on my watchlist for quite some time.

Things… “The Thing”.

In this movie we follow a bunch of scientists that work on a research station in the Antarctic. But then on one day, something strange happens. And by strange I mean a murderous alien that can shapeshift into any person/animal invades the place and they will have to stop it. What I like about this plot is that you never know who the “Thing” is. It is a detail that keeps you guessing as to who it is through the entire movie. It will also keep you on the edge of your seat because of how scary that shit is. Come on, not knowing who the monster is… that is terrifying. And I like that!

The characters are pretty entertaining. Sure, they aren’t that fleshed out, but they at least keep you entertained. What is pretty great here though is the acting. I couldn’t find any weak performance. And in my opinion, I don’t think Kurt Russell has ever been this good in anything (in anything that I’ve seen at least). Wilford Brimley (before his diabeetus) is also great in the movie. And I was glad to see Keith David in the movie, I just love that guy. And I swear, this movie contains the single greatest dog performance ever. That’s right, Lassie ain’t got shit on the dog here! As a matter of fact, every actor was great in the movie. And I think some of it came from the fact that the set was chilled down to 40 degrees fahrenheit to actually make it seem like a cold place.

Here is one of the most surprising things about the movie, the score was done by none other than Ennio Morricone. You know, the same guy that has done the music for about EVERY WESTERN EVER! Okay, not EVERY western, but a lot. But while I was surprised to see his name attached to this movie, I thought the score for the movie was pretty great. it helped hold the already excellent suspense, but it also helped raise the tension of any more (in lack of better words) action-y situation. I guess I shouldn’t be surprised since this is the same man that made a five minute staredown epic and suspenseful… hmm.

This movie was directed by John Carpenter who also directed the original “Halloween” which is the only movie of his I had seen before this. I have also not seen “Halloween” in a few years, probably should. Anyway, getting off topic, uhm… oh yeah, “The Thing”. Yeah, John Carpenter directed this movie and he did such a great job with it. The shots look great and the cuts are magnificently edited in. And this movie has some of the best creature effects/prosthetics I have ever laid eyes on. Not that I would want to lay my eyes on them because these effects are some of the most disgusting ever… still great though! Also, did I mention that this movie is terrifying? Because it is.

This movie when first released wasn’t that well-received. But over the years people have opened up more and more to it. On Rotten Tomatoes it has an 80% positive rating with a “Fresh” certification. On Metacritic it doesn’t even exist. Roger Ebert gave the movie 2,5/4 stars. And on imdb.com it got an 8,2/10 and is ranked #164 on the “Top 250” list.

Guys, “The Thing” is a disgusting movie… but it is pretty awesome with a suspenseful and scary story, great performances (yes, even the dog), excellent music, terrific direction and some fantastic visual effects. Time for my final score. Jeff! Envelope now! Thank you! *Jeff flips Markus off*. Yeah, fuck you too! My final score for “The Thing” is a 9,86/10. It definitely gets the “SEAL OF APPROVAL!”.
Seal of Approval

Review of “The Thing” is completed.

“The Thing”, “The Stuff”, what’ll they think of next?

One thought on “Movie Review: The Thing (1982)

  1. Pingback: The Month of Spooks | TheMarckoguy

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.