Movie Review: Enemy (2014)

enemy-vrag-jake-gyllenhaal

 

While dumb movies can be fun, sometimes you need something that will challenge your mind and make you think. A.K.A. a mindfuck movie. And I am a guy who loves mindfuck movies. Anytime I can get my hands on a mindfuck movie, I am excited. So let’s review something that people say is a mindfuck movie.

Ladies and gentlemen… “Enemy”.

In “Enemy” we follow history teacher Adam Bell (Jake Gyllenhaal). One day one of his colleagues recommends a movie to him. So he rents it and watches it, noticing thato ne of the actors in the movie looks just like him. So he decides to go out there, find him, talk to him and figure out what the hell is going on. And that all adds up to one of the most interesting plots I have seen ever. The plot of the movie was complex, suspenseful and incredibly well-written. I have also never said “What the fuck is going on?” this much because of any other movie plot. The plot of “Enemy” is very confusing and strange and surreal and I love it.

Jake Gyllenhaal… how could you not have won an Oscar yet!? I’m not even kidding, he is aboslutely fantastic in this movie as both of these men. There are so many parts of his performance(s) that make it fantastic. I think I am pretty justified in calling Gyllenhaal one of my favorite actors. Mélanie Laurent, who you probably know from “Inglorious Basterds”, is also great in the movie. Every actor that was in the movie was good, but Jake Gyllenhaal outshined them all… Because he is amazing.

The score for the movie was done by Danny Bensi & Saunder Jurriaans and it is one of the most eary, disturbing, creepy and bone-chilling scoresI have ever heard. It really fits the dark and eary tone of the story perfectly and really helped to keep me creeped out and even a little bit disturbed. It also kept the movie even more weird, disturbing and fucked up than it already was… fuck you guys! I love you though, great score!

This movie is directed by Denis Villenueve who also made the movie “Prisoners” which I think will stay my favorite movie of 2013. And just like that movie, he managed to create an incredibly well-directed movie. The shots look fantastic, and the cinematography is some of the most dark but still beautiful I have ever seen.  I also like how they kept it consistent in  the coloring. What kind of coloring? Bleak and grey… perfect for this type of movie. And I am gonna repeat myself, this movie is complex beyond belief. Sure, you can interpret it all you want, but it will be difficult to find a perfect interpretation of it. Just don’t expect me to analyze and interpret it, I’m not smart enough to be able to do that.

This movie has been pretty well-received. On Rotten Tomatoes it has a 75% positive rating with a “Fresh” certification. On Metacritic it has a score of 61/100. And on imdb.com it has a score of 6,8/10.

“Enemy” is a strange movie. I mean, it’s really fucking weird. But I do also think that the story is suspenseful & excellent, the acting is spectacular, the score is fantastic, the direction/camera work is great and I just felt like this was pretty great. Time for my final score. AH, SPIDER! *SQUISH*. My final score for “Enemy” is a 9,87/10. It definitely gets the “SEAL OF APPROVAL!”
Seal of Approval

 

“Enemy” is now reviewed.

Villeneuve… come at me, bro.

Leave a Reply

