Movie Review: Blade (1998)

cine_267306_Blade

 

How come we never see any R-rated Marvel movies these days? Sure, PG-13 is generally more profitable, but there are a lot of properties that could benefit from being rated R. The closest we’ve gotten to an R-rated Marvel movie in recent years was “Daredevil” and that wasn’t even a movie, it was a TV-show. I’m just saying, give an R-rated movie a try Marvel. If you do, I will give you all the money.

Ladies and gentlemen… “Blade”.

The titular character Blade (Wesley Snipes) is a peculiar man. Not only does he dress like someone who has seen “The Matrix” a few too many times, but he is also half-human half-vampire. And with the help of an old man named Abraham Whistler (Kris Kristofferson) he hunts and kills vampires. At the time of the movie he is specifically looking for a vampire named Deacon Frost (Stephen Dorff), while also having to keep a young doctor (N’Bushe Wright) safe. The premise is simple, but the execution of it could definitely be better. Would I call the story interesting? Not really. While I was entertained the whole way through, I never felt invested in the story itself which is a bit of a shame.

Where the story was meh at best, the characters make up for it (sort of). First off, Wesley Snipes as Blade is pretty much as badass as you can get. He also gives a really good performance. I’ve never been a big fan of Stephen Dorff, not that I hate him, I jsut haven’t been a big fan of him as an actor before. But I thought he was really good as this vampire, villain, man. N’Bushe Wright, never heard of her before, but she was great. Then we have Kris Kristofferson who in my opinion stole the show. Sure, I was a fan of him before I saw “Blade”, but he was still great in this movie. He also has the best line out of everyone. I’m not gonna say what it is, but I think you might know what I mean if you’ve seen the movie.

The score for “Blade” was composed by Mark Isham and it is actually pretty great. It is one of those scores that can work for two types of things. Number one is for an action movie, like this one. The second thing is at big, loud parties. Okay, only parts of the score works for parties, but what I mean is that it for the most part if fast-paced and energetic. Perfect for this movie.

This movie was directed by Stephen Norrington who also made “League of Extraordinary Gentlemen”… I see that we are good hands (sarcasm). Jokes aside, he did a really good job directing this movie, the shots look great and he managed to pace it perfectly. What else can I talk about here… oh yeah, the action! It is fierce, brutal and fucking awesome. You can see what’s happening, you see people do real stunts and oh my god Wesley Snipes can move! Yeah, Wesley Snipes did all of his own stuff in this movie which is awesome! What I have to complain a little about though is the CGI in this movie. Now to be fair, there isn’t as much CGI as one might think, but when it is there you sure as hell notice it. And it’s not good that you notice it, because it is awful. I mean, we got “Jurassic Park” five years before this came out and that CGI is still amazing. So how come the CG in this movie is this god awful? *Sigh*.

This movie has gotten some mixed reception. On Rotten Tomatoes it has a 54% positive rating. On Metacritic it has a score of 45/100. Roger Ebert gave it 3/4 stars. And on imdb.com it has a score of 7,1/10.

“Blade” is a movie that really is more style over substance. While the story is meh, the characters are entertaining and well-acted, the music is great, the directing is really good and the action is amazing. However it also has shitty CGI. Time for my final score. *Vampire hissing* *Markus kills vampire, takes envelope*. My final score for “Blade” is an 8,97/10. I think it’s worth buying.
Worth buying

“Blade” is now reviewed.

“Blade” vs “Twilight”, make it fucking happen!

2 thoughts on “Movie Review: Blade (1998)

  1. Pingback: Full list of all R rated superhero movies ever made

  2. You’re totally right, Markus. R rated superhero films are a risky businesd now. I was doing a top of all R rated superhero films ever made and there is a clear pattern – since aprx 2009-2010 there are less and less of them made each year. Dredd (2012) was one of the last notable productions. This is the “Marvel effect”, the success of their films now leaves less space for the others.

Leave a Reply

