Movie Review: The Theory of Everything (2014)

the_theory_of_everything_movie-1366x768

Anybody else have major respect for super genius Stephen Hawking? The guy is essentially stuck in his own body yet has managed to be one of the coolest and most inspiring people on planet earth. What happened to him is shitty, but he didn’t care, he continued with his work and genius theories. And I guess that is why I have a lot of respect for him. So let’s have a look at him… sort of.

Ladies and gentlemen, I present to you… “The Theory of Everything”.

Like I said, in this movie we follow Stephen Hawking (Eddie Redmayne). It starts out when he’s a young man in university, trying to become one of the big science people (sorry for my ignorance). We also get to see how he meets his future wife, Jane (Felicity Jones) and how they cope with Stephen’s disease getting worse and worse over the years. And I actually really liked the plot of this movie. It is heartfelt, it is charming and it also heavily invested me. I can also mention that the movie falsely advertises itself. The title is “The Theory of Everything”, but isn’t so much about Hawking’s theory. It’s really a romance movie about the most brilliant mind of… ever. And I feel like the plot overall at times handled certain situations a little bit sloppily. It might also feel a little bit melodramatic at times for some people (not me). So I do think the plot overall was really good, if a little sloppy at times.

The characters in this movie are all interesting and have a lot of personality. They could have been handled so terribly, but the crew of the movie lucked out. Eddie Redmayne, holy shit he gave a great performance. What made his performance so great was that as the movie progressed and the disease got worse, he managed to adapt to that and perfectly capture the live of a physically decaying man. Great job, Redmayne. Felicity Jones was also great as his wife. I don’t know how to explain her performance perfectly, but I still say that she’s great. Also, since this is my blog I can do whatever the hell I want and therefore I will talk about Daredevil. What? Charlie Cox who plays Daredevil in the TV show has a role in this movie. And I think he is really good here, nothing else to say about him. Every actor was either really good or great in this movie.

The score for the movie was done by Jóhann Jóhansson who also did the score for the awesome movie “Prisoners”. But this review is about “The Theory of Everything” and not “Prisoners”, so let’s stick to this shit. So, the score… really good. It was dramatic, emotional and really fit the movie perfectly. Yeah, it’s good.

James Marsh directed the movie and I think he did a great job. The shots all look great even though there are no groundbreaking and original types of shots. And the script is really good too. I mean, the dialogue is entertaining and feels very natural. No part of the dialogue feels forced or bad or anything of a similar nature.

This movie has been very well-received. On Rotten Tomatoes it has an 80% positive rating and a “Fresh” certification. On Metacritic it has a score of 72/100. And on imdb.com it has a score of 7,7/10. The movie also won 1 Oscar in the category of Best Actor (Redmayne). It was also nominated for an additional 4 Oscars in the categories of Best Picture, Best Actress (Jones), Best Adapted Screenplay and Best Original Score.

“The Theory of Everything” got a lot of things going for it. First off, the plot is great if a little sloppy at times. The acting is also pretty great, teh score is really good, the directing is good and the screenplay is pretty great. Time for my final score. *Cough*. My final score for “The Theory of Everything” is a 9,00/10. I think it’s definitely worth buying.
Worth buying

“The Theory of Everything” is now reviewed.

Because of Dr. Hawking’s disease, you dumb shits dropped buckets of ice on yourselves last year.

2 thoughts on “Movie Review: The Theory of Everything (2014)

  1. This one was intense. Redmayne really proved himself, super tough role, but I was impressed by Felicity Jones, who really stood up to him as an actor.

Leave a Reply

