Series Review: Mr. Robot – Season 1 (2015)

fanart-original-289590-6-jpg

I am not sure what to think of hackers. Sure, there are some rotten apples out there who only do terrible/douchy things with their skills, but there are also a lot of people who use their powers for good. You know, those who try to find security issues in computer systems and then report on them/fix them. So I’m a little split when it comes to hackers. What are your thoughts on them?

Ladies and gentlemen, may I introduce… “Mr. Robot”.

The show is about computer wiz and hacker Elliot Alderson (Rami Malek) who isn’t very good with people. I mean, within the first ten minutes of the show he straight up mentions that he got social anxiety disorder. Anyway, he manages to get in contact with a group of hackers led by a mysterious anarchist called “Mr. Robot” (Christian Slater). So he has to lead a triple life where he has to try to balance his life as a worker on a cyber security firm, his own side-stuff as a hacker and also the parts of his life involved with helping “Mr. Robot” and the gang with their schemes. And if that idea is not intriguing to you then you’re clearly not into intriguing mysteries. And were my speculations about the plot being any good justified? Fuck yes! With the basic idea of the show I did think it would be pretty good… I did however not expect the plot of it all to be fuckin’ masterful. The plot is presented in a way where it is told incredibly well with a lot of relevance to modern society and current social issues. It also has a ton of suspense and some fantastic twists. I mean, it kept blowing my mind with all of the clever twists. I have not seen a show this smart in a long time. I gotta say that the plot of the show is just overall fantastic.

What I like about the characters in the show is that none of them are even close to perfect. They all have flaws and that makes them even more relatable and interesting. Let’s start out with our main man, Elliot. Giving the guy social anxiety disorder was actually a smart move on the creator’s part since it really makes him a bit awkward but also a lot more interesting. And Rami Malek who plays him perfectly nails it! Also, I didn’t realize it until about halfway through the season, but then it popped into my head like “Holy shit, it’s the guy from Night at the Museum!”. I don’t know why I didn’t recognize him at first, but I at least finally did. Christian Slater also nails it as this strange man who obviously knows a lot about Elliot even though we never know why.  The third and final one I will officially mention is Swedish (my nationality!) actor Martin Wallström who plays rich businessman Tyrell Wellick… he is fucking great in the show, playing a very sneaky and kind of douchy man. And he’s great. Everybody’s great in this show which is awesome!

The score for the show was composed by Mac Quayle and he did a fantastic job with it. It is heavily based in techno/electronic music and it fits the show perfectly, buidling suspense and tension. It is also overall really good and pretty enjoyable to listen to. And the use of licensed tracks in the show was pretty great too. Every track was used perfectly for the mood they wanted for the scene/situation. After finishing the season I listened to the mix of songs they had and it was great. The entire soundtrack’s great and perfectly fits the show.

The show was created by a man named Sam Esmail who really hadn’t produced/directed/written anything prior to “Mr. Robot” which is really strange to me because of the high quality each episode has in all of those aspects. The camera work is fantastic, the writing is spectacular and I couldn’t find any technical faults with any of it. I mean, I would say that even has a certain style that makes it feel a bit unique as well even if it doesn’t do anything groundbreaking when it comes directing and such.

Despite being an original concept that has only aired one season, this show has gotten some fantastic reception. On Rotten Tomatoes the season has a 98% positive rating and a “Fresh” certification. On Metacritic it has a score of 79/100. And on imdb.com it has a score of 9,0/10 (let’s see if that shit changes after season 2 comes out).

“Mr. Robot” is one of the most intriguing and original shows I have ever seen. It has a fantastic & suspenseful plot with plenty of twists, fantastic characters & acting, a terrific soundtrack, great directing and spectacular writing. Time for my final score. *Cough Cough*. My final score for the first season of “Mr. Robot” is a 9,96/10. IT most definitely gets the “SEAL OF APPROVAL!”.
Seal of Approval

My review of “Mr. Robot” season 1 is completed.

Fuck society…

2 thoughts on “Series Review: Mr. Robot – Season 1 (2015)

Leave a Reply

