Series Review: Jessica Jones – Season 1 (2015)

Jessica-Jones-segundo-tráiler-1

With Netflix releasing new shows from Marvel every now and then, I feel like I will lose parts of my week/weekend to those clever bastards. So I guess it’s time to review their second collaboration which came out this friday and got finished by me saturday evening… help me.

Ladies and gentlemen, I’d like you to meet… “Jessica Jones”.

So this show follows former super-heroine, current P.I. Jessica Jones (Krysten Ritter). She’s been struck with PTSD after something that happened to her in the past, which is the reason why she stopped doing the whole superhero thing and became an alcoholic P.I. But everything is not as easy as it may seem since a man named Kilgrave (David Tennant) who did her wrong in the past resurfaces. Jessica also meets Luke Cage (Mike Colter) and they begin a bit of a romance. So Jessica’s got quite a bit on her plate, having to deal with life as a P.I. and finding/stopping Kilgrave. And is the plot presented well? God damn motherfucking hell yeah it is! It is all presented in a very noir way that not only has style, but also works in a very dramatic and actually engaging way.

The characters in this show are about as broken as a vase that’s been dropped from a twenty story building… and they are all the more interesting for it. As previously stated, Jessica is an alcoholic P.I. with PTSD… if that doesn’t sound interesting, then I dodn’t know what does. What makes it interesting is that it makes her a pretty unpredictable character who never really catches a break. And Krysten Ritter does a fantastic job as her. Mike Colter who plays Luke Cage in the show is also great. You really sympathize with him and you wish you could be his friend… mainly because you want a buff guy with indestructible skin on your side. And I gotta talk about David Tennant as Kilgrave because it is David Tennant as the show’s main antagonist. Holy hell, he is great. He is both a charming and threatening villain for the show and he perfectly suits the shows. But seriously, David Tennant does a great job with his performance and I am so happy to se him in such a great role because I really like him as an actor. And I honestly think every other actor in the show were great as well.

The score for the show was composed by Sean Callery who apparently also did the score for shows like “24” and “Homeland”, none of which I have seen. But I won’t let that cloud my judgement and say my basic thoughts on the score for the show. So how did his score hold up? Pretty damn well I would say. It’s cool and great, that’s all I’m gonna say.

This show was brought to us by Melissa Rosenberg who served as a writer, for, the… “Twilight” movies… it seems like we are in great fucking hands (sarcasm overload). But to be serious, while those movies are poorly written, she also wrote for this show and it is actually very well-written so I’ll let her go for now. But what she didn’t do for the show is direct, and maybe that is for the better. What I am trying to say is that the show is very well directed and looks fantastic. It perfectly matches the tone and style of “Daredevil” while still feeling like it’s own thing. And when there is action in the show, it’s pretty great.

I know the show just recently came out, so maybe not that many have seen it yet but I will still see how it’s been received so far. On Rotten Tomatoes it has a 91% positive rating and a “Fresh” certification. On Metacritic it has a score of 81/100. And on imdb.com it has a score of 9,0/10 and is ranked #62 on the “Top 250 TV” list.

“Jessica Jones” is another welcome entry into the Marvel/Netflix catalogue. The show has a great plot, great characters & acting, great music, great writing and great directing. Time for my final score. *Smashes wall*. My final score for “Jessica Jones” is a 9,87/10. It definitely gets the “SEAL OF APPROVAL!”.
Seal of Approval

My review of “Jessica Jones” is now completed.

*Insert clever outro here*. 

 

Leave a Reply

