My Favorite Scenes: Blade Runner – Tears in Rain Monologue

Hey guys, it’s me. And it’s time for me to share one of my favorite scenes. And this time it is for the sci-fi classic “Blade Runner”. In other words, spoilers for the movie “Blade Runner” and if you haven’t seen it already I suggest you go and see it (Final Cut version is the best) and then come back. We good? Great!

So this scene is pretty much at the end of the movie. Not the final scene like the video title says because there is still a little bit left after this scene, but it’s still late in the movie. And to be honest, I could include the circa 10 minutes leading up to it as well seeing as it is in my opinion one of the most suspenseful scenes of all time where we see our hero, Rick Deckard (Harrison Ford) getting chased by renegade Replicant, Roy Batty (Rutger Hauer) through an old building. But since I didn’t feel like looking for that part to include in video form, I will settle for this part… which is still worth talking about.
This movie is 33 years old and this scene still holds up magnificently both in directing and visual effects. After the chase has ended, Batty saves Deckard from falling to his death and then he starts monologuing. Usually monologuing from the movie’s main antagonist is jsut a cheap way for a deus-ex-machina to happen, but here it works. It is a beautiful monologue that gives a lot mroe meaning to everything in the movie and it is elevated by Rutger Hauer’s fantastic performance and the beautiful score by Vangelis. The scene has a lot of emotion and it is overall just fantastic, definitely one of the best I have ever seen.
Enjoy!

One thought on “My Favorite Scenes: Blade Runner – Tears in Rain Monologue

Leave a Reply

