“The Legend of Tarzan” trailer just dropped

Hey there, guys. Whenever I talk about trailers coming out it’s because it is something that I’ve been genuinely interested in and had previous knowledge about. But this time I wanna share/talk about this trailer because it just kind of came out of fucking nowhere. I didn’t even know that this movie was releasing a new trailer, let alone knowing it was in production.

So if you don’t know about the story of Tarzan, let me explain it to you, you unknowing person. It started out as a book titled “Tarzan of the Apes” written by author Edgar Rice Burroughs in the early 1900’s. It follows a man named Tarzan who was raised by apes despite being a human and not an ape. And at some point in his life, other humans come to his jungle, one of those humans being a young woman named Jane Porter whom Tarzan falls in love with. And adventure ensues. While I haven’t read Burroughs’ original books, I can at least say that I am a fan of the 1999 animated disney movie starring the voice of Tony Goldwyn as Tarzan. And while this movie seems to stray a bit away from most basic story elements. This will apparently follow Tarzan as he returns to the jungle after living in London.

Now this trailer sets a fairly dark but still relatively lighthearted tone. It’s not overly serious, but also not too silly. And since it is a disney production, it was kind of logical to take a cue or two from the Marvel productions. Okay, so what do I like about this thing so far? Well, I do like the choice of director for the movie. “The Legend of Tarzan” is directed by David Yates who directed the final four “Harry Potter” movies and also the upcoming “Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them” which really gives me hope for that movie.  As the titular character we will see Swedish (my nationality) actor Alexander Skarsgård who I have seen in some things and thought he was good. At least in the trailer and some photos he does look like he could do it… I hope. I would say that the cast overall looks promising. Margot Robbie, Christoph Waltz, Samuel L. Jackson, John Hurt, Djimon Hounsou… this is a great frickin’ cast. So there are a few promising elements to this movie, question is though how it will hold up when it comes out in July.
Enjoy the trailer!

So are you excited for this new upcoming Tarzan movie? Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

