Movie Review: Ex Machina (2015)

ex-machina-1356x763

The concept of artificial intelligence is one that both intrigues and scares me a lot. Sure it would be cool if someone managed to create AI because it would be such a leap in science, but it might also go south pretty quickly. I mean, if you have seen “The Matrix” you know what I am talking about. Anyhow, if there is a movie about AI that actually looks interesting, I will most likely watch it.

Ladies and gentlemen… “Ex Machina”.

Caleb (Domhnall Gleeson) is a young and skilled programmer working for the biggest non-google search engine in the world (at least in the movie). One day he gets a chance to get a trip out to the home/workspace of the owner of this search engine, Nathan (Oscar Isaac). When Caleb arrives at this pretty swanky place in the middle of fucking nowhere Nathan tells him that he managed to create the world’s first AI. A very attractive AI-robot named Ava (Alicia Vikander) whom Caleb seems to form some sort of bond with. And then we see how he tries to figure out if she really is a legit AI or if it’s a total fucking bust. And then it all turns into a “Who can be trusted” thriller with a sci-fi element to it. And from that we get a very tension-filled plot about humanity, artificial intelligence, science and trust. And I absolutely loved the plot of this movie. It constantly kept me guessing. And just as I thought I had something good going, it slapped me in the face with a twist that made me have to rethink everything… and that’s awesome! This was such a smart plot and I just really enjoyed it all.

The characters were all entertaining and interesting in their own rights. And I can safely say that the actors portraying them all did a great job. Domhnall Gleeson did a great job as our protagonist. Swedish (yay, my nationality!) actress Alicia Vikander was fantastic as this AI/robot, giving a lot of interesting nuances to her performance that really helped improve from your standard robot performance. Then we have Oscar Isaac as Nathan… holy shit. This is another one of those movies that solidify that Oscar Isaac is a fucking phenomenal actor. He’s funny, he’s creepy, he’s weird, he’s interesting, he’s just great. Every actor in this movie did a great job in the movie, easy as that.

The score for the movie was composed by Ben Salisbury and Geoff Barrow (double teh greatness?). And I have to say that it was actually really good, having a heavy orientation in the guitar department. And I don’t mean as in rock music, but rather to create a sound that would sound intriguing but also giving you an uneasy feeling. They also did that with a lot of droning noises which really worked because it sounded great and fit the movie well.

This movie was directed by Alex Garland and this is his directorial debut… but you wouldn’t believe that when watching it because it is very well directed. He is also the man who wrote the movie, now that is something he has some experience with, being the writer of movies like “28 Days Later”, “Sunshine” and “Dredd”, three movies I personally enjoyed. And the writing in the movie was very good. I can also say that the visual effects were pretty damn great as well. This isn’t an effects-heavy spectacle of a movie, but when there are visual effects (mainly CGI), they’re pretty great.

This movie has been well received. On Rotten Tomatoes it has a 92% positive rating and a “Fresh” certification. On Metacritic it has a score of 78/100. And on imdb.com it has a score of 7,7/10.

“Ex Machina” is one of those movies that just snuck onto my radar out of nowhere and then impressed me a lot when I finally saw it. It has a great and tension-filled plot, great acting, great music, great writing, great directing and great visual effects. Time for my final score. *Bzzzt*. My final score for “Ex Machina” is a 9,88/10. It gets the “SEAL OF APPROVAL!”.
Seal of Approval

My review of “Ex Machina” is now completed.

This reminds me, that son of a bitch Jeff had something to show me… I wonder what it is.

One thought on “Movie Review: Ex Machina (2015)

  1. Good review. I like what you say about the score. And Garland too. What an impressive debut. I got really nerdy with my review. This is my pick for best of the year… probably until Thursday 😉 or Hateful 8.

Leave a Reply

