Movie Review: The Gift (2015)

thegift

Good thing I decided to see this movie AFTER christmas and not slightly before or right around it. Because then I would probably be paranoid about the presents I got.

Ladies and gentlemen… “The Gift”.

Simon (Jason Bateman) and Robyn (Rebecca Hall) are a happily married couple who just moved to California to sort of start their life anew. Then one day they meet Gordo (Joel Edgerton) who is a man Simon went to school with once upon a time. So when they get aquainted with eachother Gordo starts leaving them gifts and he’s being really creepy and we now have a thriller. But it’s not just your typical stalker-thriller because it also throughout the movie presents an interesting backstory and we get some secrets revealed which makes everything so much more unique and interesting. And through the netire movie I was invested in the story and I was constantly on the edge of my seat, especially during the finale which absolutely blew my mind and knocked me flat on the ground. That is when everything just comes together and just gives you one of the most dramatic gut-punches ever. I absolutely enjoyed every second of the plot and it was all very interesting to watch it unfold.

The characters in this movie were all in some way damaged and it clearly showed in their expressions and it’s one of the things that makes them so interesting to watch. Ot also helps that the acting in the movie was good. Jason Bateman in this movie blew me away. Usually when I see him in a movie I go “Hey, I like you, Jason Bateman” because he’s a likable comedic actor. However I never feel like he has ever disappeared into a role… until now. When I watched this movie, Jason Bateman disappeared and we got this very compelling character who had something he wanted to keep hidden. Rebecca Hall was fantastic in the movie as Bateman’s wife who experiences all of this shit happening. Joel Edgerton… Joel Edgerton gave an absolutely fantastic performance as this pretty creepy and awkward guy. This is a role that could so easily be terrible and would ruin the movie, but thanks to Edgerton being so subdued with his performance, he absolutely nails it. Every actor does in fact do great jobs in the movie.

The score for the movie was a collaborative effort by Danny Bensi and Saunder Jurriaans. And it was actually good. For the most part it was pretty low-key. Stayed as ambient noise in the background but also showed itself a good amount from time to time to enhance the tension of a scene. And all of the tracks were used to great effect in the scenes they were in.

So this movie was directed by… Joel Edgerton? Yeah, it apparently seems like one of the stars of this movie was the director… and screenwriter as well. And I have to say that he did fantasticly with those duties. There are a lot of slow camera movements in this movie that gets to linger on certain scenes which makes for a gorgeous looking movie and for a little bit of suspense building. There is one shot in the movie that is completely static but it’s really a fantastic shot that features to characters on opposite ends of the screen. And the dialogue in the movie was really good as well, very smart and realistic. And like I said, the final act of this movie is absolutely amazing, one of the best I’ve seen in a while, featuring a twist or two that made me go “holy fucking shit”. Yeah… well done, Edgerton. Oh, I also have to mention that the trailer for this movie was pretty awful, so stay away from that if you wanna watch this movie.

This movie has been very well received. On Rotten Tomatoes it has a 93% positive rating and a “Fresh” certification. On Metacritic it has a score of 77/100. And on imdb.com it has a score of 7,2/10.

“The Gift” is one of the biggest surprises in quite some time for me. It features a smart & suspenseful story with an amazing finale, fantastic performances, a great soundtrack, terrific directing and really good dialogue. Time for my final score. Ooo, present! *Rips paper, opens box*. Oh, the final score… cool. My final score for “The Gift” is a 9,88/10. It most certainly gets the “SEAL OF APPROVAL!”.
Seal of Approval

My review of “The Gift” is now completed.

WHAT’S IN THE BOOOOX!?

2 thoughts on “Movie Review: The Gift (2015)

Leave a Reply

