Rest in Peace Alan Rickman

AlanRickmanPictures

Hi guys, as you’ve probably heard (and read in the title of this post), actor Alan Rickman has unfortunately passed away at the age of 69. Apparently he had battled with cancer for a pretty short time and that is what apparently took his life. After looking back at my blog, I noticed that I’ve never really done a post about the death of a celebrity before. But I guess that comes from the fact that I’ve never properly connected emotionally to any of the ones who died during the lifespan of my blog. And that is exactly the reason why I am doing a piece on Alan Rickman… because there have been some kind of emotional connection between his work and me (if that makes any sense). Since I’ve grown up watching him in movies he has always sort of been part of my life, so it’s weird for me to know that he’s gone. So I just want to talk about some of the roles I know him from.

severus-snape-alan-rickman-hary-potter-2-today-tease-150608_a331468573cda45156990ab430cfadcb.today-inline-large

Of course I have to start with the character of Severus Snape from the “Harry Potter” movies since they have been a crucial part of my upbringing. From the age of 6 (I think) I have followed the movies (and books) closely and I have always loved them. And throughout the entirety of my life I have always been intrigued by the character of Severus Snape, the potions class teacher who may or may not have been a bad guy. Of course in the final movie we found out the truth about him, but I won’t spoil it for those who may not have seen it. But Rickman was just perfect in the role and I think that may have been one of the reasons why I enjoyed the character so much.

Joe_(Intelligence_Song)

Another early one for me was the character of Joe in “Help! I’m a fish” which I just found out he was part of because as a kid I watched the Swedish dub of the movie which is kind of funny because it was originally a Danish movie which then was dubbed in the English language by people like Alan Rickman and Terry Jones. But I suppose Rickman would have been great in the role since he is so great at playing villains. The character of Joe was a fish who accidentally got a special brew into him (the brew was created by a weird scientist) and it turned him intelligent. And he was basically the bad guy of the movie and I am sure Alan Rickman was great in the role.

love-actually-karen-harry-plot-reveal-hw6

This one is kind of one of his more low-key and not as villainous roles… even though he does kind of a douchy thing in the movie. I am of course talking about Harry from “Love Actually”, a romance movie that is actually really fucking good. Throughout the movie Harry is kind of seduced by his new secretary to the point of it basically becoming him cheating on his wife Karen (Emma Thompson). It’s a kind of depressing and not too funny part of the movie, but the acting from Rickman and Thompson is great.

robin_hood_0

“Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves” may be a cheesy and pretty stupid movie and Kevin Costner isn’t even attempting to do an English accent, but one of the high points of the movie was Alan Rickman as Sheriff George of Nottingham. Like I said earlier, this guy is fantastic at playing villains and this is no exception to that claim.

alice-in-wonderland-caterpillar

This was a pretty weird role in a really weird movie by a super weird director. “Alice in Wonderland” by Tim Burton is kind of a polarizing movie for me. On one hand I do love a lot of the visuals, but a lot of the Tim Burton-isms show themselves. But somehow, Rickman managed to perfectly nail it as the Blue Caterpillar who really isn’t one of the most interesting characters in my opinion. But with Rickman’s unique voice I actually kind of enjoyed seeing the character in the movie. Rickman really captured the spirit of the character.

Judge-Turpin-judge-turpin-15461344-1021-573

Tim Burton strikes once again, but this time with “Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street” where Mr. Rickman plays Judge Turpin. And he gets to play opposite a lot of talented folks in this movie such as Johnny Depp (obviously), Helena Bonham Carter (Fucking Duh) and Timothy Spall (Less obvious). But Rickman really holds his own because let’s face it… he could act the shirts off of everyone on set. This is a movie I barely remember overall (mainly because I watched it when I was really tired), but I do remember the great acting in the movie.

Slider-Hans_Gruber

Going out with a bang we have the one and only Hans Gruber from “Die Hard”, one of the best action movies ever. This is when Alan Rickman gained some mainstream popularity, thanks to this great role. If you didn’t know Gruber is the leader of a group of terrorists that take over the Nakatomi plaza and that’s when John McClane (Bruce Willis) kind of have to step in and stop them. And from that there is cool action and one of the greatest villains of all time thanks to the memorable/excellent performance by Mr. Alan Rickman. I actually only watched this movie for the first time around 2014, but I don’t think it matters when you watch it as long as you enjoy it.

So those were some of my most memorable roles from Alan Rickman. Are there any I didn’t mention that you would like to mention? Feel free to leave a comment. Like I said, I honestly just did this because Rickman is one of the few celebrities who I’ve kind of grown some kind of attachment to thanks to him kind of being part of my entire life. I mean, it feels like I have lost someone close to me. True story: On the bus home from school today I sat and cried for most of the trip because of this unfortunate event.

Rest in peace, Alan Rickman… you will forever be missed and remembered fondly.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Rest in Peace Alan Rickman

  1. He was amazing. My favourite role of his was Hans Gruber, hands down, but he was good in everything. Galaxy Quest is a fun one to watch him in, and I also loved him as the depressed robot in The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. Also, check him out in Eye in the Sky (coming out this March) which we were lucky enough to see at TIFF – he’s really good in that as well.

  2. A wonderful tribute to an incredibly talented actor. I don’t think he ever gave a bad – or even a mediocre – performance.

    One film that I liked him in was “Madly, Truly, Deeply” a British flick from the early 1990s (I think). It is a chick flick, but I thought Alan alone was worth the price of admission. He is really funny in this one.

Leave a Reply

