Movie Review: Inside Llewyn Davis (2013)

Inside-Llewyn-Davis-2013-full-movie-hd-watch-online

Folk music, a genre that these days got a pretty mixed reception. Some love it, some hate it and then we have some stuck in the middle type of people. It’s always interesting to know what people think of stuff like that. What are your thoughts? Share ’em in the comments.

Ladies and gentlemen, let us go… “Inside Llewyn Davis”.

It’s the early 1960’s and we follow folk musician Llewyn Davis (Oscar Isaac) as he deals with all kinds of hardships throughout this week of his life. And I have to say that it was a very interesting and entertaining watch. The stroy really makes you feel for Llewyn as he goes through all of these terrible things. And I don’t mean terrible things in the usual Coen brothers’ sense, but more as in he can’t seem to catch a break. It’s a very personal story that I somehow related to despite not being a shit-out-of-luck musician. It was great.

The characters are all very interesting, entertaining and realistic. Oscar Isaac was absolutely phenomenal as this broken man who’s just trying to make a living through his passion for folk music. After seeing Isaac in this movie and a bunch other over the past two(ish) years I think I am justified in saying that he’s become one of my favorite actors. Anyhow, we have a bunch more great people in this movie. Carey Mulligan (Sidenote: whom Isaac played together with in “Drive”) plays a friend of Llewyn’s and she is terrific in this movie. Justin Timberlake plays her boyfriend and he is also really good in this movie. Then we have a ton of other great supporting actors who I will only mention quickly because otherwise we’d be here all day. *DEEP BREATH*. Adam Driver, John Goodman, Garrett Hedlund, Stark Sands, F. Murray Abraham and a lot more.

Let’s just get this out of the way: If you strongly hate folk music, you’re absolutely gonna hate the soundtrack to this movie. The entire soundtrack is basically folk music. I personally kind of like it. I wouldn’t say that I absolutely lvoe folk music overall, but I do think the songs used in this movie were really good and fit the movie very well. I guess one of the main reasons why I really liked the songs here is because they are terrifically performed by the actors in the movie. Yeah… they do that. Oscar Isaac, Justin Timberlake,  Adam Driver… they all perform the songs in this movie. Sure, some songs take help from outside sources (such as Marcus Mumford), but for the most part they are performed by the actors in the movie.

Like I said before, this movie was directed by the Coen brothers and as with everything I’ve seen from them, this is very well directed. It’s a little sad though that their regular cinematographer, Roger Deakins, was unavailable at the time. But the guy they got instead still did a fantastic job with it and the movie looks really great and interesting. And as per usual, the Coen’s sharp writing is here and it’s as great as ever. What I do really like about it is not only that it’s quick and witty, but also how it can so easily switch between serious and melancholic to darkly hilarious without fucking everything up. And every piece of dialogue seems so real and genuine which adds to the greatness of it.

This movie has been very well received. On Rotten Tomatoes it has a 94% positive rating with a “Fresh” certification. On Metacritic it has a score of 92/100. And on imdb.com it has a score of 7,4/10. The movie was also nominated for 2 Oscars in the categories of Best Cinematography and Best Sound Mixing. 

“Inside Llewyn Davis” is a very funny yet dramatic movie featuring a great story, fantastic performances, great music, excellent directing & cinematography and terrific writing. Time for my final score. *Ahem*. My final score for “Inside Llewyn Davis” is a 9,88/10. That means it msot definitely gets the “SEAL OF APPROVAL!”.
Seal of Approval

My review of “Inside Llewyn Davis” is now completed.

Oscar Isaac, you awesome man.

 

6 thoughts on “Movie Review: Inside Llewyn Davis (2013)

  1. Can’t believe I haven’t seen this – I mean, the cast, the Cohen Brothers, folk music in general… Thanks for this great review, and for encouraging me to finally see this film!

  2. I used to have a guy in the office bugging me to watch this movie. I don’t know if I’m into folk music. I’m one of those stuck in the middle type of people 🙂 anyways, I might just check it out sometime. In the meantime, really enjoyed reading your fun review.

Leave a Reply

