The “Lethal Weapon” TV-show trailer has arrived

Oh god, why… what the fuck are you doing, human race? Have you seriously lost your mind this much? WHY? *Deep sigh*. Hi guys, it’s Markus, as per usual. As you probably have guessed, I am not very happy at the moment. Why? Because I just got reminded, in my youtube feed, about how some asshat is rebooting one of the greatest franchises ever in the form of a TV-show. Yep, it’s the “Lethal Weapon” TV-show… on FOX. I am a huge fan of the movies, so when I heard they were rebooting it (on FOX), I got pretty damn angry. *Deep sigh*. So let’s talk about this here trailer and why I have no faith in the show.

It tries to re-establish these characters for a slightly younger generation (on FOX). Once again (for the first time) we will get to follow the antics/lives of LAPD detectives Martin Riggs (Clayne Crawford) and Roger Murtaugh (Damon Wayans). Okay… here are some reason why I don’t have any faith in this.

1. The cast. This saddens me to say, but the cast for this is one of the main reasons why this show (and a lot of shows) most likely falters. Clayne Crawford is a very talented actor, anyone who has seen the show “Rectify” would agree with me on that… but having him play Martin fuckin’ Riggs? Nuh uh! What made Riggs work in the first place was teh unhinged madness that was Mel Gibson. Sure, Shane Black’s writing helped a lot too, but Gibson had something special about him that helped him play such a lunatic character. Damon Wayans, funny man… not Murtaugh material… that’s all I’m gonna say. All the other cast, not sure what to say really since they aren’t the focus of this trailer.

2. The trailer. Looking at the trailer, both the shots used and the choice of music… it looks like any generic cop show on cable TV. I admit, I enjoy a good amount of them… but here it just seems shitty because of reason number…

3. The title. A lot of people bitch about reboots and remakes… me included. And while I admit that there are a few (“3:10 to Yuma” and “Bourne Identity” coming to mind) decent ones, most of them are just terrible cash-grabs… this seems like one of them. My guess is that if the show didn’t have the “Lethal Weapon” name to it and changed the names of the characters, I would most likely be fine with it. But no, they have to use it to try to get as muc hname recognition and cash as possible from people.

4. The network. This one might seem weird at first, but hear me out. FOX overall is a good network, with a whole bunch of good/great shows under it’s belt, but I really feel that a franchise like “Lethal Weapon” shouldn’t fall under the FOX banner. I feel like it would be more at home on HBO or Showtime, possibly FX or Netflix… but not FOX. Why? Because those other networks don’t have all the limitations FOX have, considering this is a franchise filled with violent action, curse-filled dialogue and it’s overall not as PG as this show looks like it will be… damn you FOX… DAMN YOU!!!

Look, I think there are a few decent things in this trailer and like I said, if it had a different title and different character names to it then I probably wouldn’t mind it… but this is a franchise that I love and don’t want to see ruined by a shitty show. *Sigh*. So what are your thoughts about this trailer? Are you looking forward to the show? Leave any and all thoughts in the comments below.
Have a good one and “enjoy”.

6 thoughts on “The “Lethal Weapon” TV-show trailer has arrived

  1. I couldn’t tell how you really felt about this… just kidding!

    Maybe, like a previous commenter said, it will be cancelled quickly – then everyone can forget it ever happened…

Leave a Reply

