Summer-y Songs

DSC_0197

Summer, the time of year that tons of people go outside because it’s sunny and warm. Some go traveling, some stay at home. All they want is for it all to be warm and sunny. You know… so they can get a tan even though that might be a bad idea because reasons. Anyway, as you might have understood from my (not so) subtle text, I am not the biggest fan of the season. But that hasn’t stopped me from having the thought “Hmm, what songs are the most summer-y”. And what I mean by that, I of course talk about which songs make me think of summertime… or at least which songs are blatantly about summer. Here’s the thing too, I actually started preparing for this list quite some time ago… yeah, beginning of June is when I started this with a post on twitter regarding it. I also got a suggestion here on wordpress for a song on the list. So this list will have a mix of songs hand-picked by yours truly, and also some songs picked by some cool people here on the internet (all of whom will be credited). So let’s get into some basic rules for the list and the readers.

Rule #1: Since it’s been some time since my last list, I will remind you all that bitching is not allowed. If you see a song you dislike on here, you can’t be a little bitch about it.

Rule #2: This is not a “ranked” list of any kind. These are just some songs that make me and some other people think of summer. It’s just a list of some songs. Though it will look ranked because I like that “countdown” style on lists.

Rule #3: I will not include Mungo Jerry’s “In the Summertime” on here, because it’s a bit too obvious. Yes, it’s a really good song… but it’s not on the list.

Rule #4: There is no real fourth rule here… Let’s move on!

So here we go. These are seven songs that make me (and some other folks) think of the summer!

#7: Supergrass – Alright.

So our first song comes to us from my buddy Vinnieh . He decided to choose this 1995 pop-rock song from the British band Supergrass. And yes, this definitely gives off a very summer-y feel. I mean, there’s beaches and fun and people being young, seeing their friends, and just living life. Thanks for this suggestion, man… certainly a good pick.

#6: Jason Mraz – I’m Yours

This song is a pick by yours truly. Ever since I first heard it on the radio in like 2009 or 2010, I’ve enjoyed it a lot. My mom and I have actually talked a bit about how it does feel like a very summer-y song. Just close your eyes and imagine sitting on a lawn chair, with a cold drink in your hand, just chilling… all while this song is playing. That is the feel it gives off for me… a chill summer evening.

#5: The Strokes – You Only Live Once.

So at this spot we have a song that was chosen by the lovely Elly on twitter. I do not entirely get how she gets a summer-y vibe from this song, but that’s okay. This is a song picked by Elly, and I like her, so therefore it would go on the list. Thank you, Elly, for your contribution to this list.

#4: Jim Wolfe and Charles Brotman – Ukulele Girl

So here’s another one of my picks. As you may have noticed, I am going back and forth between my picks and the  guest picks. Anyway, this song is one I heard under interesting circumstances. I was playing the video game “Far Cry 3” (one of my favorites) and in the game I got in a car and this started playing on said car’s radio. And since then I’ve enjoyed it a lot. It’s a very laid back and chill song that fits perfectly when you wanna run over modern day pirates in brutal and hilarious fashion. Ahhhh, the sweet smell of murder.

#3: Squeeze – This Summer.

Time for the next guest pick, and this time it comes from the Lazarus Pit Pod account. Not sure who exactly of the two guys recommended this song (probably Nate), but I am glad it came along. It’s a fun and delightful little piece of Brit-pop from the 90’s. And honestly… I really like it. It’s a fun song that is about summer and love and it’s just perfectly summer-y. Thanks whoever it was from the pod that recommended this, glad to have it on board for the list.

#2: Santana feat. Rob Thomas – Smooth

This is another pick from me, and it’s one I actually made a separate post for quite some time ago. This was early on in the process of preparing this list. The reasons I picked this song for the list is because of it’s hot latino vibes and smooth (pun intended) lyrics. It’s an awesome song with some really good singing from Rob Thomas and some fucking fantastic guitar playing from Carlos Santana. For me it is a perfect summer-y song.

#1: Brad Paisley – Water.

And the final pick for this list is another one from yours truly. That’s right kiddos, I am selfish enough to make the “top 2” picks my own. But to be fair, I never got enough suggestions for this list to do it any other way. Anyway, what is this thing I picked? Well, it is a song from country musician Brad Paisley, who I have said before is my favorite country musician. And this is his song about water and how much fun can be had with it. Just listening to the lyrics makes me go “Yup, he’s definitely singing about summertime”. And if you ask me, it’s probably my favorite song about summer. That’s kind of why I saved it for last. It’s a song I can’t help but sing along to when I listen to it. It’s also just fun and cool and definitely something I’d play at a pool party (if I had one, that is). But I really do feel the summer vibe in this song and I simply love that feeling. I feel happy and smile when I hear this song. It’s a great one.

So those were the picks from me and those other people (a huge thank you to them!) So I ask you, the readers who weren’t involved with this… what are some songs that make you think of summer? Leave any and all answers in the comments!
Have a good one.

13 thoughts on “Summer-y Songs

Leave a Reply

