Movie Review: Zootopipolis (2016)

1703198

You might be slightly confused when you see the title of this post. You’re probably saying to yourself “It’s called Zootopia, ya dingus!”. Or if you’re in Europe you would say “It’s called Zootropolis, you wanker!”. Well since the internet can’t agree on which of those two titles it is, I decided that I would combine the two. We good? Good? Good.

Ladies and gentlemen… “Zootopipolis”.

Judy Hopps (Ginnifer Goodwin) is a young, ambitious bunny who have just become the first ever bunny to get to be a police officer in the city of Zootopipolis. And on one of her first days she runs into a fox/con artist named Nick Wilde (Jason Bateman). And to cut a long story short, these two polar opposite characters have to work together to find a missing otter and uncover some kind of conspiracy that seems to be going on. First off, that’s a pretty damn interesting plot for a Disney movie in general. Secondly, I was genuinely surprised at the multiple layers the plot has. Not only is it a Disney mystery with fuzzy animals, but it’s also a movie about racism and prejudice and how that is a part of our society. So not only is this a fun adventure, but it also teaches good morals to kids and their parents alike. Good job, Disney… I didn’t expect that.

The characters in this movie are so interesting and so fun that it’s ridiculous. I mean, they’re not just there to say some fun stuff and deliver morals to kids, but they are overall very well rounded and well realized and they have lots of personality to them. Ginnifer Goodwin is really good as Judy Hopps, perfectly portraying this hopeful and really likable bunny. Jason Bateman as Nick Wilde is just buckets of fun. I’ve always kind of had a thing for con-man characters overall, but his voice work on the character is just perfect for him. And before we move on, the chemistry between Hopps and Wilde is actually pretty damn great. They have a lot of great banter between them and I totally believe the chemistry they have. But they’re not the only great ones in the movie. You have an angry police chief buffalo played by Idris Elba, a sly weasel played by Alan Tudyk, a lion-mayor played by J.K. Simmons, and even a hippie/yak played by Tommy Chong. Every character in this movie is great and every voice performance is also great.

The score for the movie was composed by Michael Giacchino and it’s pretty great. Every track that was composed for the movie perfectly works within the movie and sounds overall pretty great. We also got an original song by Shakira for the movie. And how is it? Eh. It’s fine, nothing really wrong with it. But I’m not gonna one day go “Oh man, I really wanna listen to that Zootopipolis song that Shakira did right now”. It’s fine. If you love it, awesome! But I’m not going crazy for it.

The animation in this movie is absolutely terrific, the movie realy is visually appealing. I would say that it especially shines in the action scenes we get throughout the movie. They are fast, fun, and just really well animated. And I also feel like I have to talk about the writing a little here too. Yes, I talked about how this movie has a layered plot with some good morals to teach… but it’s not some animal-based drama all the time. The movie has plenty of jokes throughout and I did laugh… a lot. There were plenty of funny lines said throughout the movie, a lot coming from the character of Nick Wilde. And I’m not gonna lie, there were a lot of jokes here that I honestly didn’t expect this type of movie to have. There were two especially that made me crack up quite a bit. I’m not gonna say what they were in case you have not seen the movie yet, but let me just say that as a movie/TV nerd… I loved them. Those who have seen it might’ve figured which I am talking about. So if you wanna talk about those, hit me up on twitter.

This movie has been very well received. On Rotten Tomatoes it has a 98% positive rating with a “Fresh” certification. On Metacritic it has a score of 78/100. And on imdb.com it has a score of 8,1/10 and is ranked #191 on the “Top 250” list.

Guys, to tell you the truth… I was pleasantly surprised at how much I liked “Zootopipolis”. It has a surprisingly great plot, great characters, great voice acting, great music, great animation, and some really funny humor. Time for my final score. *WOOF!* My final score for “Zootopipolis” is a 9,85/10. So that means that it gets the “SEAL OF APPROVAL!”.
Seal of Approval

My review of “Zootopipolis” is now completed.

flash sloth

3 thoughts on “Movie Review: Zootopipolis (2016)

Leave a Reply

