New “Assassin’s Creed” movie trailer

“Nobody expects the Spanish Inquisition” – Monty Python.

That’s right, ladies and gents of all ages and looks, we have a new trailer for the upcoming “Assassin’s Creed” movie, which for those who’ve lived under a rock for the past ten years, is a movie based on a series of video games. And it’s honestly one of my favorite game franchises of all time, with the second game probably being my favorite. One or two of you might remember that I did a post when the first trailer came out and I thought it was okay. Not mindblowing, but also not the worst. Still, with all the Hollywood fuck ups within the video game adaptation world, I have always been a skeptic when it comes to this. So let’s talk about this new trailer.

So it starts wit- HOLD ON… it’s PG-13!? Oh come on! PG-13… for a movie based on a series of games that happen to be very violent. Not “Gears of War” levels of violent, but still very violent. *Sigh*. Moving on from that crime against the title, we get more shots of our main character, Callum Lynch (Michael Fassbender), sitting in prison, working with scientists using the Animus, and accessing the genetic memory of his ancestor Aguilar. And that’s about it. We get some action and drama and sci-fi stuff… stuff we kind of already knew. So what do I like about this trailer? Well first off, there is no shitty Kanye in here… so that’s a step in the right direction. I also like the action presented, it looks kind of badass. And Fassy looks as great as ever in this. So what don’t I like about it? Well there’s a modern pop song in this movie that is supposed to be futuristic sci-fi mixed with historical fiction. It’s a trend that is being used too much these days, since it modernizes stuff that doesn’t need to be modernizes. I also don’t like GOD DAMN IT, WHY IS THIS PG-13!? It makes no sense…. at all! *Deep breath* Calm down, Markus… at least this trailer is better than the first one. *Deep breath*. “Assassin’s Creed” is set to come out around Christmas this year.

So what are your thoughts? Are you looking forward to “Assassin’s Creed”? And are you a fan of the games? Leave any and all thoughts in the comments.
Have a good one and enjoy the trailer.

6 thoughts on “New “Assassin’s Creed” movie trailer

  1. I’m going to totally jump onto your bandwagon here and say that I hate the fact that so many films are dumbed down (or rated down) to capture more of the market. I want to see the unabashed, nothing cut out version of films and this pandering to executives to make more money is shameful. Power to the people!

      • I think you get what I mean. It was violent/Rated R, and made A LOT of money. So I think they could have AC be that too and still make money.

      • I do get what you mean. It’d be nice to see a film made the way that it should be made. Something like Assassin’s Creed (a film about assassinating people) should have more grown up content and tones. Most of the games seem to be rated M+ or 18+ so why not the film too?

  2. Really enjoyed playing these games up until they got rid of the animus. I’m not actually looking forward to this film that much if I’m honest. It looks fun, I’ll still watch it, but it’s just the fact that games made into films usually aren’t very good.

Leave a Reply

