Movie Review: Doctor Strange (2016)

doctor_strange_movie-1280x800

I know, I know. I said that I had reserved October for Spooky stuff and “Harry Potter”… but this is an exception I just had to make. I mean, it’s fuckin’ Marvel!

Ladies and gentlemen… “Doctor Strange”.

Stephen Strange (Benedict Cumberbatch) is a brilliant but arrogant neurosurgeon. And one night he ends up crashing his car, completely fucking up his hands. So in search of ways to get them healed, Sephen finds himself going to Kathmandu where he meets a mysterious woman called The Ancient One (Tilda Swinton) who begins teaching Stephen about sorcery. And while the plot can feel a bit by the numbers, it still works as an interesting origin story while also opening up the more magical side of the MCU very well. I mean, I was invested throughout and I enjoyed seeing where the plot went next. Good shit.

The characters in the movie were for the most part interesting and entertaining. Benedict Cumberbatch was great as Strange, even if I got a bit of Tony Stark vibe from him. His American accent was a little bit distracting at first, but I quickly got used to it. Rachel McAdams was really good as Christine Palmer, colleague and love interest of Strange. Tilda Swinton as The Ancient One was a very controversial choice, since it’s a white person playing an originally Asian character. But to give credit where credit is due, I thought her performance was good. Chiwetel Ejiofor was really good as Mordo. Mads Mikkelsen was suitably intimidating as the villain Kaecilius.

The original score for the movie was composed by Michael Giacchino who seems to be everywhere these days when it comes to composing music for movies. And the score for this movie is definitely one of the best from any MCU movie. Sure, some tracks feature the typical bombastic stuff we’ve come to expect,  but there’s also a lot of new stuff going on here too. There are instruments being used throughout that I honestly haven’t heard from any previous MCU score. And I think it’s all pretty great, especially the end credits theme… that shit is great!

This movie was directed by Scott Derrickson, a man primarily known for horror. And I think he did a great job directing this movie. The scenes flow very well and the action scenes are really good. But I think that also works with a lot of the trippy magical stuff we get in this movie. There is a lot of world bending being done throughout, which makes this one of the most visually interesting movies this year, or at least in the MCU. And the visual effects in general look fantastic, with all spells and such looking perfectly integrated into the movie. Speaking of things that work well in the movie, there’s a lot of humor throughout that I thought was really funny. Even though I am aware that the MCU isn’t afraid of having some comedy in their movies, I didn’t expect there to be as muc as there was in this movie. It’s not as much as in “Guardians of the Galaxy”, but there’s more than I expected… and I like it.

Since this movie just came out, the scores will probably change a bit on the sites, so these are just the scores on the sties as I’m writing this review. On Rotten Tomatoes it has a 93% positive rating. On Metacritic it has a score of 74/100. And on imdb.com it has a score of 8,1/10.

“Doctor Strange” is not absolutely perfect, but it’s a damn fine movie. It’s definitely one of the best solo movies in the MCU, in my opinion. It has a good plot, good characters, great acting, great music, great directing, amazing visual effects, and some real eye candy. Time for my final score. *Magic*. My final score for “Doctor Strange” is a 9,61/10. So it gets the “SEAL OF APPROVAL!”.
seal-of-approval

My review of “Doctor Strange” is now completed.

Finally… MAGIC!

One thought on “Movie Review: Doctor Strange (2016)

Leave a Reply

