Movie Review: Logan (2017)

logan-2017-movie-5k-on-1366x768

Guys… it is here. The end of an era. Hugh Jackman’s final movie in the “X-Men” franchise. For 17 years we’ve seen this big Australian man put on the adamnatium claws for the sake of our entertainment. And now he is hanging up said claws for good. Well… let’s see if his final outing does him and the character justice.

Ladies and gentlemen… “Logan”.

It’s the near future and we follow an old and broken Wolverine (Hugh Jackman) as he is hiding by the Mexican border together with Charles Xavier (Patrick Stewart). And when they meet a young girl (Dafne Keen) their simple lives change, and they have to face some of the toughest challenges of their lives. And that is all I’m gonna say when it comes to any plot synopsis. And with that said, the plot here is one of self-discovery and redemption. It’s not one of those “Let’s stop the end of the world” movies that we’ve been presented with before. This is a personal movie about Wolverine, about Charles, about this girl… and I fucking loved it. Sure, previous “X-Movies” have dealt with interesting themes and have even ahd some solid drama to them, but none of them have been this personal or even this emotional. And without giving too much away, I cried at a few bits in this movie. So plot-wise I would say that this is a send-off for Hughverine. Tense, exciting, haunting, and emotional.

What I like about the characters here is that they’ve been brought down quute a bit. Sure, I love the badasses in spandex and how mighty they are… but the characters on display here feel very human. You can tell that these people are very flawed and broken, and that makes them so much more engaging to watch. Hugh Jackman has always been great as Logan/Wolverine… but I think this might be his best outing as the character. His performance here is very nuanced and layered, and it’s at tiems even a bit heartbreaking. Yeah, Jackman is fucking fantastic in this. Patrick Stewart was absolutely terrific as Charles Xavier in this. The character is broken and much weaker than he’s ever been, and Stewart really knocks it out of the park here. Dafne Keen plays the little girl, Laura, and she was great. This girl really came out of nowhere, no previous acting experience as far as I know, and she was really great in this movie. She was badass, fierce, and just awesome. Boyd Holbrook (aside from being really handsome) plays Donald Pierce, the antagonist of the movie, and he was great. He was menacing but he was also cool and he worked very well in the movie. We also get Stephen Merchant as Caliban. And he was kind of great. Sure, he never really gets “that big scene”, but I still think he did a really good job here. I’m basing that statement on how putting someone who’s only known for comedy in a drama like this could be end up real bad… but he did a really good job. All the actors did very well in this movie.

The score for this movie was composed by Marco Beltrami and it was pretty fucking good. His score was exciting, haunting, and emotional. It was overall very well composed and it fit the movie very well.

This movie was directed by James Mangold (hence the “Mangoldathon” leading up to it) and he did a phenomenal job. This is a gorgeously shot movie, featuring some really good eye candy. His directing is also pretty intense which leads me into the action and HOLY SHIT this movie is violent. Now, I knew that this movie was rated R, and the trailers showed some violence… but Jesus fucking Christ, I didn’t exactly expect it to be this brutal. But the violence isn’t just there for the sake of violence, it’s here to serve the story. I really don’t think you could have done this movie PG-13, the violence on display in “Logan” is justified for the story they are telling. You have an old and grumpy Logan who just doesn’t give a shit anymore… the R-rating is totally justified. So if you’re a very squeamish person who doesn’t like pools of blood and limbs getting chopped off… you’ve been warned.

This movie has (so far) been very well received. On Rotten Tomatoes it has a 94% positive rating and a “Fresh” certification. On Metacritic it has a score of 77/100. And on imdb.com it has a score of 8,8/10 and is ranked #61 on the “Top 250” list. (Keep in mind, this movie just came out, so any of these scores/rankings might change quite a bit and I’m not editing this stuff as time goes on).

“Logan” is a fantastic action-drama that gives Hugh Jackman and Patrick Stewart the goodbye that they deserve. It has a great plot, fantastic characters, terrific performances, great music, fantastic directing, and great (& brutal) action. Time for my final score. *Snikt!*. My final score for “Logan” is a 9,90/10. Which means that it of course gets the “SEAL OF APPROVAL!”.
seal-of-approval

My review of “Logan” is now completed.

Mr. Jackman, Mr. Stewart, if you’re reading this… thank you so much for all these years of Wolverine/Professor X. I’m gonna miss seeing you as these characters, but I also wish you luck with all your future endeavors. *Sniff*. What? I can cry, I’m not made of stone!

12 thoughts on “Movie Review: Logan (2017)

  1. This sounds like the best stand-alone Wolverine movie yet although I have to admit I kind of love The Wolverine because I love Japan and I love trains.

  2. I liked that their powers were not used as an easy fix to anything, and also that Logan felt so vulnerable throughout. It made him feel more heroic because he had more to fear than he has in the other X-Men movies, and that still didn’t keep him from standing up for the little guys.

  3. Great review! I think I’ve only seen the first X-Men movie, but the way you described Wolverine really got to me. I’m hardly familiar with this character, and now you’ve got me missing him, too!

Leave a Reply

