The Great Villain Blogathon 2017: The T-1000 from Terminator 2

Hello there, ladies and gentlemen of the internet. Today I am giving you a different kind of post. It’s not a review, it’s not me talking about a new trailer, and it’s not me talking about music that I like. Today I am giving you all my entry for The Great Villain Blogathon (2017 edition) which is hosted by Ruth from Silver Screenings, Karen from Shadows & Satin, and Kristina from Speakeasy. So this blogathon, as you could probably tell from the title of it, is about the great cinematic villains. I was of course intrigued by this, especially since I’ve partaken in other blogathons hosted by some of these people before. But also because I like villains… as long as they’re not shit, of course. So, without further ado, here it is… my entry for the Great Villain Blogathon!

And I guess I should say this right now: Potential spoilers for all the “Terminator” movies coming up. Because I feel like I can’t properly talk about this guy without comparing him and his shenanigans to the other movies… so yeah… spoiler alert.

Ladies and gentlemen… The T-1000 from “Terminator 2: Judgment Day”!

“Terminator 2: Judgment Day”, the 1991 sequel to the 1984 hit movie “The Terminator”. Not only did it have to be a good sequel (which is hard enough), but it had to try to live up to one of the most revolutionary movies of 1980s. It wasn’t an easy task, but James Cameron was willing to tackle it. And god damn, the crazy son of a bitch actually succeeded. To quickly get my thoughts out of the way: “Terminator 2” > “The Terminator”. Now, let’s talk about the villains. In the first movie you had Arnold playing the villain, a T-800 Terminator sent back to kill Sarah Connor (Linda Hamilton). He was big, tough, and kind of scary at times. The T-800 was one relentless bastard that was intimidating as it with great determination followed Sarah Connor around. So how do you improve on that? Well, by having the villain be made of liquid metal of course. Instead of having a bulky robot with skin wrapped around it, you’d have something that could change it’s shape into anything of a similar mass.

He’s one deceptive fucker.

Sure, Arnold-bot was intimidating, but at least he had a bulky body that you could most likely destroy. But how the hell does one take out a thing that can turn into liquid and also morph itself into various shapes? One of it’s favorite tricks being to morph it’s arms into blades.

That’s what you get for drinking right out of the package, Todd.

And since he’s made from liquid metal, bullets don’t really do anything do him. Okay, they stagger him for a little bit, but he just regenerates. Since there’s no blood or actual machinery inside him, he can’t get hurt by conventional weaponry. Not even a point blank headshot from a Winchester 1887 shotgun. Just take a look at the picture below.

Now that’s what I call a splitting headache!

So we have a near indestuctible liquid metal Terminator that will not stop until it finishes it’s job. That sounds great enough on it’s own, but what really makes this character as memorable as it is is the performance. The T-1000 in “Terminator 2” is played by Robert Patrick, and he is aboslutely fantastic in the role. Sure, as a liquid metal organism he doesn’t need to show much emotion, but the cold killer gaze combined with his stiff yet fluid body movements is what makes him great in the role. And he compltely sells the action scenes. In the first movie you had Kyle Reese (Michael Biehn) protecting Sarah Connor, but since he was human, he and the Terminator could never properly fight. However, since we now have a T-800 protecting Sarah and John, and a T-1000 chasing them, we get a pretty interesting dynamic. We get two Terminators, one older model and one newer, much deadlier model, fighting to the death. And it’s awesome!

FIGHT! FIGHT! FIGHT! FIGHT!

“The Terminator” had the lumbering danger of the Arnold-bot. “Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines” had the sexy mediocrity of the T-X. “Terminator: Salvation” had… what did that have, can someone please remind me? And “Terminator: Genisys” had something, I haven’t seen it, so I don’t know. But none of them is as memorable or as terrifying as the liquid metal badass that is the revolutionary T-1000 from “Terminator 2: Judgment Day” played by the great Robert Patrick.

I’d like to hear from you guys, what are your thoughts on the T-1000? And what are your thoughts on the “Terminator” movies in general? Leave any and all thoughts in the comments. And also, huge thanks to Ruth, Karen, and Kristina for allowing me to partake in this. I had fun, especially because it gave me an excuse to rewatch “Terminator 2”. I suggest you go give these lovely people a follow if you haven’t already… because they’re pretty cool.
Have a good one!

8 thoughts on “The Great Villain Blogathon 2017: The T-1000 from Terminator 2

  1. Excellent post – the T-1000 definitely is an iconic, menacing foe!
    And it’s too bad that all other Terminator films paled in comparison to the first 2 (even though I gave up after #3 😉)

  2. You made an excellent point about the original Terminator movie. It was groundbreaking and revolutionary – something I tend to forget because it’s become ingrained in our culture. I’m glad you pointed that out.

    As for the T-1000 itself, it is terrifying! It’s been a long time since I’ve seen this film, but I remember Robert Patrick’s terrific performance. I can’t believe I’m saying this, but you’ve got me wanting to see both T1 and T2 again!

    Thanks so much for joining the blogathon. It would not have been complete without the T-1000.

  3. Pingback: The Great Villain Blogathon 2017 – Day 2 Recap | shadowsandsatin

  4. Great movie. And Robert Patrick was indeed a sleek and sexy villain as the new-and-improved Terminator series killbot! And I also remember how Linda Hamilton got all buffed and ripped and looked damn great in this…
    -There was one cool thing about Genisys–the CGI that resurrected the young and virile Arnold – amazing technology.
    Loved your post and your blog!

  5. All the Terminators have one thing in common, they are supposedly indestructible and unstoppable. Such is always the case for robots. I have a great affinity for robot villains, and I really liked this one. Good review.

  6. Awesome post! It really shows how much Terminator 1&2 love you have in you. I share your enthusiasm for Terminator 2, especially. I’ve seen #1 maybe once in my life, but #2? Forget about it, 23 times at the very least. T-1000 is a great villain! God knows he scares the shit outta me still. And of course, who can forget Guns & Roses’ “You Could Be Mine” badass song, eh?

Leave a Reply

