Movie Review: Eddie the Eagle (2016)

I would give you a clever intro that somehow relates to the movie in some way, probably something about sports. But I can’t think of anything good for it… that tagline on the picture is pretty awesome though.

Disclaimer: I know this thing is based on a true story, but I will not base my review on how perfectly accurate to the real situation it may or may not be, but I will instead judge it as a movie… which it is. Disclaimer over.

Ladies and gentlemen, he is… “Eddie the Eagle”.

Eddie Edwards (Taron Egerton) is a young man who’s been determined his entire life to become an olympic athlete, despite constantly messing up. And his latest olympic obesession is ski jumping, which he is determined to learn and also compete in during the winter olympics. However, he faces a bunch of obstacles as he tries his hands at it. But then he meets former ski jumping champion Bronson Peary (Hugh Jackman) who more or less starts taking Eddie under his drunken wing. And now we have our underdog story. And while the story treads a lot of familiar ground and plays it very safe, it still manages to be a fun and really inspiring. Like I said, Eddie’s athletic life has so far been a series of fuckups, but he is determined to keep on going, not caring about the overall outcome, as long as he makes it to the winter olympics… and I respect that. It’s a heartwarming and inspiring plot that had me rooting for Eddie the entire way. But like I said, this plot plays it very safe, using most of the clichés that were familiar with from other sports movies, and these are very noticeable, so I can’t give the plot a perfect score. But it’s still heartwarming, fun, and inspiring enough to get a really good score from me.

The characters in this are all entertaining and interesting. Taron Egerton plays Eddie, the young man determined to get into the olympics, damn it! Despite constant failures and people telling him he can’t do it, he powers through. And Egerton is great in the role, giving a really likable performance. Hugh Jackman plays Eddie’s coach, Bronson, a former ski jumper who is now a drunken loser. And Jackman is great in the role. We got Keith Allen as Eddie’s dad who always judges Eddie for his olympic ambitions, and while his character is a dick, Allen is great in the role. We also got Jo Hartley playing Eddie’s mom (or mum for you British people), and her character is the parent that always believes in Eddie. And Hartley is great in the role. Plenty of solid performances in this movie.

The score for the movie was composed by Matthew Margeson and it was really good. It was about as fun and inspiring as the character of Eddie, giving us a solid mix of fun tracks for lighter moments and dramatic tracks for the more dramatic moments. It also perfectly fits the 1980s setting of the movie, giving us a good amount of synth. There are also a bunch of 80s songs in here, and they all fit perfectly.

This movie was directed by Dexter Fletcher and I think he did a really good job. The shots look really good and there’s a nice, joyous energy to his directing. And I don’t mean energy in a Guy Ritchie kind of way, but that this just has some energy to it making it interesting and not dull. I don’t know how to properly explain it, you just have to try to take my word for it. Anyway, there’s also a lot of humor in this movie and it’s quite funny, I found myself laughing a good amount here.

This movie has been pretty well received. On Rotten Tomatoes it has an 80% positive rating and a “Fresh” certification. On Metacritic it has a score of 54/100. And on imdb.com it has a score of 7,4/10.

“Eddie the Eagle” doesn’t really do anything terribly original, but it’s still a fun and inspiring movie that left a huge grin on my face. It has a good plot, really good characters, great performances, great music, and really good directing. The only problem I have with it is that it plays it very safe, going through a lot of the motions of a lot of sports movies. Time for my final score. *Ahem*. My final score for “Eddie the Eagle” is a 9,23/10. While not perfect, I’d still say that it’s worth buying!

My review of “Eddie the Eagle” is now completed.

That was a nice movie. Fun and easy to get through.

2 thoughts on “Movie Review: Eddie the Eagle (2016)

  1. Good review. Personally, I liked this movie. Despite it being a bit formulaic, its definitely a tried and true “feel good” movie.

Leave a Reply

