Great Music #25

Hello there, my friends! Remember this series of mine? I don’t blame you if you don’t, seeing as it’s been dead for months. Anyway, I found a reason to bring it back, so here we go!

So the song we’re talking about today is one I’m super excited about. The song we’re talking about today is “Gone Gone Gone” by American rock band Styx. And while I’ve been a fan of them for a while and could’ve shared any of their songs, I have a very specific reason for sharing this one: It’s new… ish. It came out a couple of weeks back, which I missed. Oh well, better late than never! “Gone Gone Gone” comes from “The Mission”, the band’s first album in 14 years… and man, what a return it is! Once again they’ve given us a great prog-rock album. I could talk about the album in general for a while here, but I’m not going to. But we’re still talking a bit about “Gone Gone Gone”, a fast-paced, fun, and exciting rock song. The instrumentals, the vocals, it is all perfect… I fucking love it. Man, Styx is back!
Have a good one and enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Great Music #25

  1. Oh yes, it’s crazy how good Styx still is! This might just be one of my favourite surprise releases this year, with that brilliant space concept. On a side note, do keep this series going! You have excellent music taste. 🙂

  2. I know your tastes are eclectic and you’ve already surprised me with your love for country music but this is also a surprise. Styx aren’t a band most young people would know of.

    I have “Styx II” and the two Greatest Hits albums as well as the live “Return To Paradise” DVD . They got a bit wussy near the end of the Dennis DeYoung era but otherwise they done some great stuff! 🙂

Leave a Reply

