My Top 12 Rock Songs of 2014

Wut wut

I am a guy who listens to A LOT of music. And I don’t really stick to one specific genre, I can listen to most things (Not really into dubstep and such). But if you have to ask then I will admit that I am a big sucker for rock music. The guitar solos, the bassline, the drumming… it is all awesome to me. So today we are taking a look at My Top 12 Rock songs released in 2014. Now for some ground rules!

Rule 1: This is my list, so if you don’t like any of the songs on the list then you can’t complain about it, these are just my opinions I will be sharing.

Rule 2: Heavy metal, metal, death metal, rockabilly and such styles will not really be featured in this list. Songs with a few of those influences are acceptable though. Punk is also okay(ish).

Rule 3: These songs may have been known in 2013 or had been teased back then but their release dates are 2014.

Now without further ado, here you have My Top 12 Rock Songs of 2014!

Number 12: U2 – Every Breaking Wave.

If you have an ipod you might be familiar with this song since apparently the entire album was downloaded to every ipod in existence (without the owner asking for it). The reason this song in on the list is beacause it is a good song. Nothing spectacular, but the main thing I kind like is how it sounds like classic U2. And classic U2 is always nice.

Number 11: Ted Nugent – Everything Matters

This song is simply cool. Good guitar playing, a good rhythm and just an overall cool feeling. This is a song I could imagine myself sitting and listening to when I am sitting outside on a warm day. This song and a cold drink would make it all great.

Number 10: Foo Fighters – Something from Nothing

For as long as I know I have liked Foo Fighters. I first heard them when I was about 12. I have liked most of their songs. And their 2014 album “Sonic Highways” was nothing short of great. It showed that they are still a great band and that they are here to stay. The reason I chose “Something from Nothing” is beacause I really liked the song. It stood out to me in one way or another. I also liked the sort of ballad/hard rock mix that it had going for it.

Number 9: Billy Idol – Postcards from the Past

The 1980’s was a great decade for rock music. We got tons of great artists/bands such as Bon Jovi. Guns ‘n’ Roses and of course Billy Idol who with this song shows that he still got a lot of steam in him. This is very reminiscent of some of his classic songs… but I don’t mind. This songs sounds great and is definitely something I would turn on during a party. It’s a great song and I hope that Billy will keep making songs as great as this. His voice is also still great.

Number 8: Seether – Same Damn Life 

Coming in at number 8 is a song by South African rock band Seether, a band I never expected myself to listen to. Then I heard their song “Country Song” and I started listening to them. This song is just as heavy, great and enjoyable as their earlier works. I really got nothing else to say.

Number 7: Bruce Springsteen – High Hopes

Here we find a song by none other than Bruce “The Boss” himself. This song is great because of how it takes everything good about Springsteen songs and combines it into one big awesome thing. He also gets help from the criminally underrated guitarist Tom Morello (Former guitarist in Rage Against the Machine). When you listen to this you will probably go “Yeah… fuck yeah, Springsteen!”. This song is great on so many aspects.

Number 6: Slash feat. Myles Kennedy – World on Fire

When this song starts you’ll automatically go “OH YEAH! ROCK, BITCH!”. It is a cool and badass hard rock songs from one of the greatest guitarists of all time; Saul “Slash” Hudson. Yes, his name is Saul. Someone photoshop his head onto Saul Goodman from “Breaking Bad” please and then send it to me. Anyway, the guitar in this song is crazy and shows just how much skill Slash has when it comes to skillfully and awesomely playing the guitar. This is one of those songs that I’d listen to when I would be out driving, it is made in that way. It is also one of those I would dance like an idiot to because that is just who I am.

Number 5: Royal Blood – Figure it Out

This song comes from British rock duo Royal Blood and is featured on their debut album, yes they are that new(ish). The first time I heard this song I had never even heard of these guys. I heard it while watching an episode of the relatively new TV-show/Batman prequel “Gotham”. I heard the song in the episode and thought to myself “This song is pretty good, maybe should look it up”. So of course I went a day or so later to the site tunefind.com where you can look up shows and find out what songs used in episodes are called, highly recommend it. So after that I started listening to the song more and more and it was kinda awesome. I also checked a few other songs out by the band and they are pretty good, go support them!

Number 4: Ed Sheeran – Make it Rain

At number 4 we have the rock ballad from the penultimate episode of the awesome drama series “Sons of Anarchy” which I actually reviewed a while back (Shameless self-promotion). This song got some truly great work on the guitar by Sheeran. It also fits the mood of the scene it was used in (Don’t worry, no spoilers, simply avoid youtube comments). It is a really good song with great guitar, great singing, great feeling and is just overall a truly great song.

Number 3: Rise Against – The Great Die-Off

Going for a more punk-y style we have a song from Rise Against from their 2014 album “The Black Market”. It shows that they know how to play different styles yet never deviate too much from the punk/rock style they have. I am a big fan of Rise Against and I was happy when I listened to this album last year and head that it was quite awesome. I just liked this song the most because… well I can’t really explain, I just do.

Number 2: The White Buffalo & The Forest Rangers – Come Join the Murder

Yes, once again I pick a song from “Sons of Anarchy”, but I can’t help the fact that the show had awesome music! This is the song that plays in the very last episode of the show and boy do they use it well! This song is a rock ballad like few other. You have a smooth yet powerful voice for those who like that, you have talk about God and such for the christian people in the audience and you have one hell of a song for those who love great music! This is a song I have listened to more times than I dare count. It is so great that I at times have put it on repeat and just listened and listened and listened. I love the ballad style of it, I love the smooth yet powerful singing voice, I love the guitar, I love the simple rhythm… I just love everything. It was also featured in one of my favorite TV-shows of all time, so there’s that. Again, stay away from the youtube comments if you don’t want to get spoiled.

Number 1: AC/DC – Rock or Bust

I could just as easily have put the entire fucking album here. I love EVERYTHING on the album, no kidding. but I chose this because it’s the one you’ll most likely remember the most of and also because it is the title track. The reason I also chose this is because it is AC/DC, my favorite band. Sure there might be some bias here, but I do think this song (and album) is great. There are (in my opinion) no flaws here, I simply love it.

So… those were My Top 12 Rock Songs of 2014. But my opinion isn’t everything. What are some rock songs from 2014 you liked? Fuck it, what were some of your favorite songs overall from last year? Let me know with a comment, I’d like to know what you think!

See ya!

 

Leave a Reply

