Series Review: Bosch – Season 1 (2015)

bosch1-1356x762

With VOD (Video on Demand) becoming as big as it is right now, it’s not that surprising that those types of platforms would start putting out their own content. The supreme ruler at this time when it comes to VOD original content is Netflix with it’s god knows how many subscribers and the amount of shit they have put out. But then we see Amazon starting to put out a lot of stuff in their name. I mean, later this month we will get their new show “The Man in The High Castle” based on the novel by Philip K. Dick. Anyway, let’s have a look at one of Amazon’s shows.

Ladies and gentlemen, let me introduce you to… “Bosch”.

“Bosch” is based on a series of books by Michael Connelly and is about LAPD detective Harry Bosch (Titus Welliver). We follow Harry as he tries to solve the murder of a 13 year old boy while at the same time standing trial for murdering a serial killer. And while this sounds like any ol’ crime novel/show, I gotta say that I was pleasantly surprised with how much I enjoyed the plot of “Bosch”. Not only is it surprisingly enjoyable, but it even manages to have some good twists in the show combined with some genuinely good suspenseful moments. There were even one or two moments that made me go “Oh shit” which I don’t do too often. So good on you “Bosch”, your plot is good.

What I like about the character of the show is that they are consistently entertaining, thanks to a really sharp script and some damn fine performances. Titus Welliver fucking nails it as Harry. Now to be fair, I have not read any of the books so I can’t really compare the characters in the show and say if that’s how I expected them to look/be like. But I can at least say that the actors are really good. The only other character I want to mention is the sort of main villain of 99% of the season, Raynard Waits (Jason Gedrick). I have to say that he was a really good villain, being a perfect challenge for our hero and his colleagues. Not only that, but he is also one of the creepiest bastards I have ever witnessed on television. Great job, Gedrick, you fucking nailed it! Everybody nailed it, even the writers!

The score for the show was composed by Jesse Voccia and I do think he did a great job with it. Have I heard better thriller soundtracks? Yes, of course I have, but I do still think this one was really good. It was suspenseful, it was well-composed and it overall fit the show splendidly. I also like the mix of licensed tracks they had in the show. We mostly get jazz because that is what the character of Harry Bosch seems to enjoy listening to. But there is also some rock, blues and other genres. And the song “Can’t Let Go” by Caught a Ghost is pretty great too.

This show in my opinion got some pretty great cinematography. It gives it a pretty gritty and almsot real feeling that makes it really fun to watch. And each episode is splendidly directed. And thew occasional action scenes in the show I think are pretty good too. And of course I have to talk about the opening credits… they are fucking amazing, I absolutely love them. Check them out… HERE!

“Bosch” has been pretty well-received. On Rotten Tomatoes the season has a 72% positive rating. On Metacritic it has a score of 71/100. And on imdb.com the show has a score of 8,3/10.

“Bosch” is a crime show with a surprisingly good plot, great characters & acting, a great soundtrack, terrific directing and great cinematography. Time for my final score. *Cough cough*. My final score for season 1 of “Bosch” is a 9,85/10. It definitely gets the “SEAL OF APPROVAL!”.
Seal of Approval

Review of season 1 of “Bosch” is completed.

Golf is not a great sport. If you can smoke and drink while doing it, it’s not a sport.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.