Great Music #11

Hello there. Anybody else here like to share music they like with friends? If you do, awesome! If you don’t, well fuck you because I am sharing music that I like right now!

So this time I thought I would share the song “Texas Flood” as sung by Stevie Ray Vaughan (R.I.P). And what I mean by that is that he didn’t write the song, this is a cover. The original was written and performed by blues musician Larry Davis in the late 50’s, with Vaughan covering it in the early 80’s. And even though a lot of people might be like “Bleh, covers are never as good as the original!”, I direct you to this song which I think is as good as the original in composition, but I do prefer to listen to this version a bit more. Don’t get me wrong, I love old blues songs by people like Muddy Waters and John Lee Hooker, but my heart will always lean toward the slightly more rock(ish) sounds. And that’s why I think Vaughan’s version of this song works so damn well.
Enjoy!

10 thoughts on “Great Music #11

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.