Series Review: Flashforward (2009 – 2010)

1280x720_flashforward-726_51b10d114bc58

What would happen if we saw our own future? Would we try to change it or would we embrace it even more? I honestly would panic and wonder what the images all meant and what tiny factors in my life could change/keep it. This is something interesting that I’ve been thinking about a lot in my life. Maybe you have as well… who knows?

Ladies and gentlemen, prepare to get a… “Flashforward”.

“On October 6th, the world blacked out for 2 minutes and 17 seconds. The whole world saw the future”. That is the phrase uttered at the beginning of basically every episode. If you didn’t catch what it meant, the plot is that on october 6th 2009, every person in the world blacked out and got a vision of their future. When everyone wakes up, they have no idea what the hell is going on and what happened. So the FBI sets up a special taskforce to find out what happened, why it happened, how it happened and if it might happen again. At the forefront of this is seasoned FBI agent Mark Benford (Joseph Fiennes) and his partner Demetri Noh (John Cho). And from this we get a really cool concept… but is it only good on paper? No, it’s actually great in execution as well. This show is very addicting in the way that it makes you want to know who/what is behind this terrible event and if it’s able to stop him/her/it for good. And thanks to constant suspense, interesting revelations and genuinely good twists it really entertains and shows itself as a really good story. What is sad about it though is that the show ended after 1 season and I feel like that is a shame since there was so much potential for even more interesting plotlines and situations. But I can at least say that what we got was pretty damn good.

What I love about the characters in the show is that we get so many different types of them. First up we have Mark Benford, the seasoned FBI agent who is both determined to find out everything about this whole blackout thing while at the same time not losing his family. And Joseph Fiennes was pretty damn great in the role. John Cho was great as Benford’s younger yet still skilled partner who has his problems. And I would say that all characters are great in the show since I can’t sit here and talk about them all because this is a pretty damn big ensemble cast. But all characters are interesting/great and all actors do a really great job.

The score for the show was composed by Ramin Djawadi who you might know from shows like “Prison Break” and “Game of Thrones”, or from movies such as “Pacific Rim”. And like in those things, it’s great. This show doesn’t rely that much on being as grandiose as some of those scores, but it still holds up really well. A lot of it is based in ambient sounds, but there are of course some orchestral tracks for some of the bigger scenes and it is all great. It all fits the show terrifically. And the licensed tracks they use for a good amount of the show work really well too.

This show looks terrific. I mean, it is really well directed and the camera work is great. Sure, some of the CGI at times don’t look that great, but overall I wouldn’t complain too much about it since it’s not distractingly bad. I do however like the action scenes in the show. Not because they’re huge and extravagant (because they’re not), but because they handled perfectly. When they happen you do notice them, but they never feel like going full Michael Bay which is something I really appreciate. And I do have to say that there are some genuinely suspenseful moments/scenes. One of them (without spoiling it) is a part of episode 17 where I seriously sat and curled myself into a ball, slightly squealing because I was like “Come on… please”. Seriously, that level of suspense rarely happens to me. Fun fact: this show is loosely based on the book of the same name by Robert J. Sawyer. I haven’t read the book yet, but I feel right now like I should at some point in the near future. *blacks out*… *Wakes up minutes later*. I just had a flashforward where I saw myself reading it.

This show, despite only getting one season was well received. On Rotten Tomatoes it has an 89% positive rating and a “Fresh” certification. On Metacritic it has a score of 71/100. And on imdb.com it has a score of 7,6/10.

“Flashforward” is one of those shows that was just too shortlived. It had a great story, great characters & acting, great music, great directing and great action & suspense. Time for my final score. *Blacks out*. My final score for “Flashforward” is a 9,89/10. It most definitely gets the “SEAL OF APPROVAL!”.
Seal of Approval

Review of “Flashforward” is now completed.

Who knew William Shakespeare was such a badass?
1x01_Hero

 

 

2 thoughts on “Series Review: Flashforward (2009 – 2010)

  1. Its such a shame we didn’t get more seasons of this show, I felt as though it just ended and we were left without a real explanation.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.