Movie Review: High-Rise (2015)

Dystopias. Something explored in many books and movies. Some more accurate to current society than others. Well, today’s feature presentation is a dystopian story. So let’s go.

Ladies and gentlemen… “High-Rise”.

Robert Laing (Tom Hiddleston) is a physiologist who has just moved in to a huge, high-tech high-rise. And everyone there seems to have it pretty damn good. However everyone’s perfect lives soon spin out of control and everything starts going to absolute shit. And while it’s a really interesting series of events, I feel like there’s no actual reason for it all to be happening. I am all for odd and interesting plots that dare to go to unique places, but I also want there to be some reason bhind the events that transpire. Like I said, the stuff that happens in the movie is really interesting and can even be a little disturbing at times, but there’s no reason for stuff happening. I was seriously sitting there thinking, “Alright, this is some interesting stuff… but why is it even happening?”. And I am 100% sure that I didn’t miss anything that triggered the downfall of the high-rise society… shit just happened, with no real reason for it. So to summarize my rambling: The plot features an incredibly interesting series of events that has no real reason or focus behind it.

The characters are a bit like the plot, it was interesting seeing them go through all this shit, but I never really cared about any of them. Tom Hiddleston gives a great performance as Doctor Robert Laing, going from a pretty normal and sane individual to a more… odd man. Jeremy Irons plays the owner/architect of the high-rise and he’s great. Sienna Miller is also great. Luke Evans plays a filmmaker here and he is pretty great. Elizabeth Moss is also great in the movie. James Purefoy was also really good here. So the characters are not the most compelling, but they are interesting to follow and they are also very well acted.

The score was composed by Clint Mansell and it is fantastic! It’s weird, it’s eerie, it’s dramatic, and it just pleases my ears quite a bit. I am not surprised by this though, since Clint Mansell composed the scores for “Requiem for a Dream” and “Moon”, and I love the scores in those movies… he’s just fucking great at his job. What I also thought was pretty interesting about the music was that this movie has a weird fascination with ABBA’s song “S.O.S”. Just thought it was interesting how it popped at two times in the movie in two very different styles.

This movie was directed by Ben Wheatley and I think he did a really good job. The scenes always feel a bit off, but in a good way. I really felt like this wasn’t our world, it was something much weirder and much more unpredictable. And from a visual standpoint, this movie looks fucking great. There are plenty of great shots in this movie and even when the shot isn’t awesome (in lack of a better word) this movie still looks really good. Something fun to mention is that this movie is based on the book of the same written by J.G. Ballard, released in 1975. Now, I haven’t read the book, so I can’t say if this is a faithful adaptation or not… all I can say is that the book thing was a fun little bit of trivia to add. That said, if you’ve read the book then please tell me if it’s any good and/or if this is a good adaptation of it.

This movie has gotten some mixed reception On Rotten Tomatoes it has a 61% positive rating. On Metacritic it has a score of 65/100. And on imdb.com it has a score of 5,7/10.

“High-Rise” is a pretty interesting dystopian drama. It has a pretty good plot, okay characters, great performances, fantastic music, and great directing. However it is very flawed since I felt like there was no real reason for the plot to happen and I didn’t find the characters especially compelling. Time for my final score. *Clears throat*. My final score for “High-Rise” is an 8,57/10. So even though it is quite flawed I’d say that it is worth buying.

My review of “High-Rise” is now completed.

So when you’re near me, darling can’t you hear me, S.O.S…

 

One thought on “Movie Review: High-Rise (2015)

Leave a Reply

