Series Review: Preacher – Season 1 (2016)

pEJyewzypetTrPXSkg3i0oRWrum

The world of comic book/graphic novel adaptations is pretty huge. From movies, to video games, to TV-shows. Which means that there are a lot of different adaptations to choose from. And my guess is that we will keep getting these types of adapations until the end of time.

Ladies and gents… “Preacher”.

Welcome to the fictional town of Annville, Texas! In this town there’s a preacher named Jesse Custer (Dominic Cooper). Jesse may have a bit of a shady past, but he at least tries to be a good preacher. However when a strange supernatural event at his church gives him a special power, things seem to take weird turn. So with the help of his new friend, the Irish vampire named Cassidy (Joesph Gilgun), Jesse has to try to figure out what the hell is going on. All of this while a few things happen to the side, including Jesse’s ex-girlfriend Tulip (Ruth Negga) suddenly showing up in town. And I’m not gonna say anything else because it’s quite the interesting plot that should be experienced rather than described. The plot of the show takes some very weird turns throughout, which gives the show a lot of personality and makes it stand out a lot within the world of comic book adaptations. I found the plot incredibly interesting and entertaining, constantly surprising me with everything it had up it’s sleeve.

Calling the characters in this show colorful would be quite an understatement. Jesse like I said, has a bit of a shady past which you gradually get to know more and more about as the show goes on. And I think Dominic Cooper was fantastic in the role, perfectly playing his part in this whole thing. Ruth Negga as Tulip, she’s cool and her performance was really good. Joseph Gilgun as Cassidy is just buckets of fun. From the first time I laid eyes on him I knew that I was gonna like him… but I didn’t think I was gonna love him as much as I did. There are also a whole lot of supporting characters that are just as entertaining as the main three people and have really good actors in their respective roles.

The score for the show was composed by Dave Porter, the same guy who did the music for “Breaking Bad”, anotehr show that aired on AMC. And I think that the stuff he composed for the show was good, working perfectly for scenes that it was used in. But there are also a lot of licensed tracks too, mostly within the country genre. And it all works because of the show not taking itself too seriously for that type of music, but also because of the Texas setting. There’s also a good amount of Johnny Cash in the soundtrack, which is always a plus in my book.

“Preacher” is based on the comic series that was created by Garth Ennis and Steve Dillon for Vertigo, a sort of subsidiary of DC Comics. And this show was developed by three people: Sam Catlin, Evan Goldberg, and Seth Rogen (Yes, that Seth Rogen). And while I haven’t read a single issue of the comic, I can still see that this show does a lot of things right. The directing in this show is terrific, it’s visually terrific. The action scenes are great, but even the more quiet talking scenes look great. I’ll give a wanring though, if you’re not a fan of blood and gore… yeah, this show has a lot of it. But if you’re like me and have a dark sense of humor, you’re really gonna enjoy the writing in this show. The humor is really dark and twisted and weird and I laughed a lot during the show.

This show has been pretty well received. On Rotten Tomatoes the season has an 89% (100% if you go by “Top Critics” only) positive rating and a “Fresh” certification. On Metacritic it has a score of 76/100. And on imdb.com it has a score of 8,4/10 and is ranked #239 on the “Top 250 TV” list.

If you couldn’t tell, I love “Preacher”. The plot is really entertaining, the characters are really fun, the acting is great, the music is great, the directing is great, the action is great, and the humor is really funny. Time for my final score. OH LORD, JEBUZ CRUST! My final score for “Preacher” season 1 is a 9,94/10. So it gets the “SEAL OF APPROVAL!”.
Seal of Approval 

My review of “Preacher” season 1 is now completed.

Billy-Ray was a preacher’s son And when his daddy would visit he’d come along.

One thought on “Series Review: Preacher – Season 1 (2016)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.